Tuesday, 20 December 2022





Swearing in

The Commissioner: I have received from the Governor a commission to administer the oath or affirmation of allegiance to members of the Legislative Assembly. I will ask the Clerk to read the commission.

The Clerk: The commission is addressed to the Honourable Justice Karin Emerton, President of the Court of Appeal. It reads as follows:

Acting under section 23 of the Constitution Act 1975 I authorise you, in the Parliament Houses, Melbourne, on the twentieth day of December 2022, to administer the prescribed Oath or Affirmation of allegiance to Members of the Legislative Assembly.

GIVEN under my hand and the Seal of Victoria on this 19th day of December 2022.

It is signed by the Governor and the Premier.

The Clerk announced the receipt of return of writ issued by the Governor for the election of 85 members to serve for electoral districts set out below and endorsed to show the election of the following members:

District Member
Albert Park Nina Taylor
Ashwood Matt Fregon
Bass Jordan Crugnale
Bayswater Jackson Taylor
Bellarine Alison Marchant
Benambra Bill Tilley
Bendigo East Jacinta Allan
Bendigo West Maree Edwards
Bentleigh Nick Staikos
Berwick Brad Battin
Box Hill Paul Hamer
Brighton James Newbury
Broadmeadows Kathleen Matthews-Ward
Brunswick Tim Read
Bulleen Matthew Guy
Bundoora Colin Brooks
Carrum Sonya Kilkenny
Caulfield David Southwick
Clarinda Meng Heang Tak
Cranbourne Pauline Richards
Croydon David Hodgett
Dandenong Gabrielle Williams
Eltham Vicki Ward
Essendon Danny Pearson
Eureka Michaela Settle
Euroa Annabelle Cleeland
Evelyn Bridget Vallence
Footscray Katie Hall
Frankston Paul Edbrooke
Geelong Christine Couzens
Gippsland East Tim Bull
Gippsland South Danny O’Brien
Glen Waverley John Mullahy
Greenvale Iwan Walters
Hastings Paul Mercurio
Hawthorn John Pesutto
Ivanhoe Anthony Carbines
Kalkallo Ros Spence
Kew Jess Wilson
Kororoit Luba Grigorovitch
Lara Ella George
Laverton Sarah Connolly
Lowan Emma Kealy
Macedon Mary-Anne Thomas
Malvern Michael O’Brien
Melbourne Ellen Sandell
Melton Steve McGhie
Mildura Jade Benham
Mill Park Lily D’Ambrosio
Monbulk Daniela De Martino
Mordialloc Tim Richardson
Mornington Chris Crewther
Morwell Martin Cameron
Mulgrave Daniel Andrews
Murray Plains Peter Walsh
Narre Warren North Belinda Wilson
Narre Warren South Gary Maas
Nepean Sam Groth
Niddrie Ben Carroll
Northcote Kat Theophanous
Oakleigh Steve Dimopoulos
Ovens Valley Tim McCurdy
Pakenham Emma Vulin
Pascoe Vale Anthony Cianflone
Point Cook Mathew Hilakari
Polwarth Richard Riordan
Prahran Sam Hibbins
Preston Nathan Lambert
Richmond Gabrielle de Vietri
Ringwood Will Fowles
Ripon Martha Haylett
Rowville Kim Wells
Sandringham Brad Rowswell
Shepparton Kim O’Keeffe
South Barwon Darren Cheeseman
South-West Coast Roma Britnell
St Albans Natalie Suleyman
Sunbury Josh Bull
Sydenham Natalie Hutchins
Tarneit Dylan Wight
Thomastown Bronwyn Halfpenny
Warrandyte Ryan Smith
Wendouree Juliana Addison
Williamstown Melissa Horne
Yan Yean Lauren Kathage

Members took and subscribed the oath or affirmation as required by law.

The Commissioner: The Governor will attend Parliament later this day to inform you and members of the Legislative Council of the reasons for calling this Parliament together. As it is necessary before you proceed with business that a Speaker of the Legislative Assembly be chosen, the Governor requests that you proceed to the choice of a Speaker.

The Commissioner retired from the house.