Parliament steps broadcast in countdown to election


As election day approaches, 3AW's Neil Mitchell has brought his morning radio show to the steps of Parliament House.

In a final countdown to the 29 November polling day, interviews arranged for the broadcast included with the Premier and Leader of the Opposition.

Read more ...

Links with Fiji Parliament strengthened


Stronger ties between the Fiji and Victorian Parliaments have been forged during a Victorian parliamentary mission to Suva.

Victoria's Clerk of Parliaments Ray Purdey held a series of discussions with his Fijian counterpart, Secretary-General Viniana Namosimalua, about cooperation between the two legislatures and opportunities for Victoria to contribute to the professional development of the new Fiji Parliament.

Read more ...

Enhancements at Victoria’s Parliament House

A number of works projects are underway at Parliament House in Melbourne to modernise and improve access arrangements at the building.

The Presiding Officers have approved four initiatives as part of ongoing projects to maintain and update one of Victoria's most iconic landmarks.

The works include new public access arrangements at the front and back entrances; improvements to the car park entrance; and updating of the perimeter fencing.

Read more ...

Victoria joins project to support new Fiji Parliament


The Victorian Parliament is providing technical assistance to the new Fiji Parliament under an initiative supported by the Australian Government.

The two year project, part of a package of measures announced by Foreign Minister Julie Bishop during her visit to Fiji last week, will involve a range of professional development activities to support the Fiji Parliament, its MPs and staff.

Read more ...

Writs issued for Victorian state election

At 6pm on Tuesday 4 November 2014 the writs were issued for the Victorian state election, bringing to an end the 57th Parliament.

The state election will be held on Saturday 29 November 2014, with 88 Legislative Assembly seats and 40 Legislative Council seats to be contested.

Read more ...