Report form the Select Committee of the Legislative Assembly on the Melbourne & Hobson's Bay Railway Bill 1857 : together with the proceedings of the Committee and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Legislative Assembly. Select Committee on the Melbourne and Hobson's Bay Railway Bill 1857
Other Authors: Campbell, Daniel Stodhart, 1812-1875, Carter, John, d. 1887, Clarke, Andrew, Sir, 1824-1902, Fellows, Thomas Howard, 1822-1878, Fyfe, Alexander, 1826?-1903, Goodman, John, 1828?-1874, Heales, Richard, 1821-1864, Horne, George Samuel Wegg, 1811?-1873, McCulloch, James, Sir, 1819-1893, Muttlebury, James William, d. 1886, Palmer, Alexander Stenson, 1825?-1901, Service, James, 1823-1899, Wood, John Dennistoun, 1829-1914
Published: Melbourne : Printed at the Herald Office, 1857
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1856-57
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: Committee: Daniel Campbell (chairman), Sir Andrew Clarke, Thomas Fellows, Alexander Fyfe, John Goodman, Richard Heales, George Horne, Sir James McCulloch, Alexander Palmer, James Service and John Wood
Mr Carter appeared as counsel for the petitioners for the Bill
J. W. Muttlebury appeared as agent
Witnesses: Henry Creswick (director Melbourne and Hobson's Bay Railway Co.), William Elsdon (engineer MHBRC), Edward England (clerk to J. W. Muttlebury), Thomas Finlayson (accountant MHBRC), Elliott Hopkins (petitioner/licensed waterman), William Kaye (chairman (MHBRC), Charles Joseph Lewis (shipping clerk), William Philpot (formerly director MHBRC), James Sexton Stafford (petitioner/licensed waterman), James John Vines (piermaster MHBRC/asst. harbour master) and Joseph Ward (sec. MHBRC)
Minutes of evidence include the petition of the Licensed Watermen of Sandridge
BOUND IN 1856/57 VOLUME 3 p. [523-569]
Physical Description: 47p. ; 34cm.