Report of the Royal Mining Commission appointed to enquire into the condition and prospects of the gold fields of Victoria

Corporate Author: Victoria. Gold Fields Royal Commission of Enquiry
Other Authors: Black, G., Humffray, John Basson, 1824-1891, McCoy, Frederick, Sir, 1817-1899, Mollison, Crawford, 1817-1896
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1863
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1862-63, no. 10
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Commissioners: John Humffray (chairman), Frederick McCoy and Crawford Mollison
Secretary: G. Black
Witnesses: J. H. Alley (gold field warden Bendigo), James Baker (miner), Theodore Ballerstedt (quartz miner/crusher), William Bannerman (manager Bank of NSW), J. D. Baragwanath (miner/[later Vic. MP]), Edward Thomas Barnard (warden central division Beechworth district), Henry C. Batchelor (editor Ovens Constitution/miner), David Beckett (miner), Matthew Bennett (manager Victoria Quartz Mining Co.), Frank F. Blundell (quartz miner), Henry Charles Bristol (manager for Mr King, and manager of several claims on Poverty Reef, Sandy Creek), Charles Joseph Brown (business and mining), Thomas Lawrence Brown (mining surveyor Castlemaine Division, Castlemaine district), Captain Bull (gold field warden/commissioner Castlemaine), Walter Butler (chief clerk warden's office Beechworth), Alexander Cairns (shareholder Windmill Hill Co.), Charles F. Cameron (miner), John Llandy Campbell (miner/sec. Albion Co., Sebastopol), Richard Capper (miner), William Clarke, Jnr. (quartz mining), Charles Cole (mining surveyor), Charles Conolly (miner), T. S. Cope (judge Court of Mines), P. C. Crespigny (warden Maryborough gold fields, stationed Amherst), John Crowther (miner), Robert Davidson (mining surveyor No. 1 Division, Ballarat District), Samuel John Davidson (miner), B. G. Davies MLA, Ross Davies (chief engineer Port Phillip Co.), W. D. C. Denovan (miner/[later Vic. MP]), Deputation from Chewton mining board (Thomas Johnston (chairman Chewton Municipality), Henry Norman & Stephen Ustick ), Deputation from Sandhurst (H. B. Nicholas (chairman mining board Sandhurst/manager Victoria Reef Gold Mining Co.), Samuel Joseph Black, Edward Cook & Robert Ogilvie Smith), Deputation from Yackandandah (Alexander Alderdice, Thomas Harvey, David Robinson, Joseph Smart), Thomas Eyre (manager Catherine Reef United Co.), Donald Fletcher (miner/member of mining board), James Galbraith (medical practitioner Ararat), Henry Grimes (mining surveyor/registrar Spring Creek & Woolshed Division, Beechworth district), J. W. J. Guttierrez (quartz mines Pleasant Creek), Robert William Hammond (quartz miner and crusher Tarnagulla), John Hardy (articled clerk to brother, L. G. Hardy solicitor Ballarat), Edward Harper (mining surveyor), Captain Harrison (police magistrate Castlemaine), George William Hart (mining surveyor), Charles James Harvey (manager Clunes Quartz Mining Co.), Joseph A. C. Helm (barrister Sandhurst), Thomas Irvine (miner), Adam Jackson (civil engineer/surveyor), Henry Lee Jones (miner), Thomas G. Kennan (mining surveyor Yackandandah), Richard Luke Middleton Kitto (mining surveyor Fryerstown Division, Castlemaine district/[later Vic. MP]), Denny John Lane (miner/mining surveyor 1858-59), Henry Lane (warden Yackandandah division), Augustus Langston (receiver/paymaster), Henry S. Leak (former miner/manager Clunes Alliance Quartz Mining Co.), C. W. Ligar (Surveyor General of Victoria), John Lynch (mining surveyor Smythesdale Division, Ballarat District), George Benjamin McAlpine (Ararat mining board), Townsend McDermott (barrister Ballarat), James McGill (miner), John M'Intyre JP (miner), Charles Edward Merchant (manager Ajax Quartz Mining Co.), E. W. Morrah (manager Bank of Australasia), Thomas Morrow (miner), Daniel Muldoon (member of the mining board), Denis O'Brien (miner/sluicer), Frank O'Connell (sluicer Two-mile Creek), John F. O'Dwyer (sec. Progress Assoc./miner), Patrick O'Hannigan (gold miner), Michael O'Malley (mining surveyor No. 4 Division, Ballarat District), William Parke (manager Britannia Gold Mining Co., Ararat), D. B. Pritchard (manager Black Hill Co.), John Ramsay MLA, Paul Simeon Raphael (miner), William Reid (mining manager The Sisters Co. and Speedwell Co.), John Sinclair Robertson (mining surveyor Inglewood Division, Maryborough district), Henry Rosales (miner), James Ryce (gold miner), Edward Salisbury (miner/chairman mining board Ararat district), Alfred R. C. Selwyn (Govt. Geologist of Vic.), William Kenworthy Shaw (miner), C. W. Sherard (commissioner/warden gold fields), Richard Singleton (asst. clerk bench of District Court of Bendigo), Henry Smith (civil engineer/mining surveyor St. Andrews), George Smyth MLA, R. Brough Smyth (Secretary for Mines), Henry Crofton Staveley, James S. Stewart (hydraulic engineer/[later Vic. MP]), Robert Holden Stone (mining surveyor Buckland Division, Beechworth mining district), Frederick William Tatham (sec. Prince of Wales Gold Mining Co.), James Grant Taylor (warden Ararat), Henry Alderson Thompson (manager Port Phillip Mining Co., The Clunes), George Edward Thomson (former miner/now connected with law), Walter Thomson (miner/chairman mining board Beechworth district), Henry Charles Thorburn (general agent), John Usher (mining surveyor), John Vallance (miner), James Egan Wall (quart miner/rep. for Progress Association of Huntly), John Alston Wallace (merchant/[later Vic. MP]), Isaac Wheeldon (miner), John Wilkinson (gold receiver), Edward Wills (quartz crusher/miner), Spencer Wilson (resident/investor Ballarat/former miner), Harrie Wood (clerk to the mining board/former miner), John Wybrants (quartz miner) and John Yoxall (miner)
Physical Description: 55, 489p., [1] folded leaf of plates : ill., map ; 33cm.