Royal Commission on Police : special report on the Detective Branch

Corporate Author: Royal Commission on the Police Force of Victoria (1881-1883)
Other Authors: Dixon, Edward John, 1833-1905, Fincham, George Randall, 1829-1901, Hall, George Wilson, 1836-1916, Longmore, Francis, 1826-1898
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1883
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1883, no. 10
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Commission: Francis Longmore (chairman), Edward J. Dixon and George R. Fincham and George Wilson Hall
Detective Force members: Joseph William Brown, J[ohn] Charles, W. H. Coleman, Joseph Connolly, William Napier Considine, R. H. Dowden, John Duncan, Alexander Eason, Fook Shing, P. J. Hayes, R. Hyland, William Thomas Kett, Thomas Kidney, Alfred Lomax, P. Lovie, Patrick Mackey, M. Mahoney [i.e. Michael Mahony], Robert Moore, Thomas Nixon, Thomas O'Callaghan, E. O'Donnell, Harry Potter, Frederick Hughes Secretan, James Walshe, Michael Edward Ward and Alexander D. Wilson
Other mentions: sgt. William Acton viii, Otto Berliner v, Bird (criminal consort of James Walshe) xii, Patrick Boardman ix,x,xi,xii, Mr Boardman (Patrick's father) x, Bourke Street xii, Charles Worth Britchener (aka Charles Ward/Charles Worth) x,xi,xii, Brown(e) (pseudonym used by John Duncan/Patrick Boardman) ix,xii, Carlton xiii, Hussey Malone Chomley (chief commissioner) xiii, Commerial Bank at Hotham x,xi,xii, sr. const. Henry Corbett viii, sgt. Henry Daly viii, inspector John Dowdell (Scotland Yard) x, John Duncan v,vii,viii,ix,xi,xii,xiv, Dunedin (NZ) xi, Alexander Eason v,vi, Charles William Forster x,xi,xii, Franklin Street xii, Charles Graham (criminal/hairdresser (alias The Friar) employed by inspector Secretan) ix,xiii, [detective John] Hartney xii, detective Hudson v, detective Jennings v, sub inspector Douglas Kennedy v, Thomas Kidney v, Mrs Elizabeth Lamb ix,xii, Mahoney v, William Manwaring v, sr. const Joseph Mayes viii, Henry Moors (chief clerk Police dept.) v, New South Wales xiii, New Zealand xi, Charles Hope Nicolson iv,v,vi,viii,x, Thomas Nixon vii,viii,ix,xi,xii,xiii,xiv, Thomas O'Callaghan vii,viii,ix,xii,xiii,xiv, sgt. Henry Perry viii, Police Offences Act (given as Vagrancy Act) xi,xii, Prahran xiii, Public service [Board] xiii, const. [Joseph?] Rogerson viii, [Royal] Irish Constabulary x, Russell Street Barracks [i.e. Police Station] xiv, inspector Ryall iv, Frederick Sargood xi, inspector Frederick Secretan [iii],iv,v,vi,vii,viii,xi,xiii,xiv, Select Committee Assembly on Police 1863 vi,x, captain Frederick Standish v, Sydney xi, Tarwin River v, Charles Taylor (criminal consort of James Walshe) xii, sgt. William Thomas viii, Mr Vincent (London police) x, James Walshe xii, Mr Webster (victim of jewellery theft) xii, Martin Weiberg v, Frederick Winch vi, ex-supt. Maurice Ximines v,
Physical Description: xivp. ; 33cm.