Report from the Select Committee of the Legislative Council on the Geelong, Ballarat, and North-Western Railway Company's Incorporation Bill : together with the proceedings of the Committee and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Legislative Council. Select Committee on the Geelong, Ballarat, and North-Western Railway Company's Incorporation Bill
Other Authors: Bell, Francis, Clarke, Andrew, Sir, 1824-1902, Collyns, Davenport Welch, b. 1817, Gregory, John Alexander, 1814-1887, Haines, William Clark, 1810-1866, Harrison, James, 1816-1893, Kay, Joseph Henry, 1815-1875, Lloyd, George Thomas, McCulloch, James, Sir, 1819-1893, Michie, Archibald Donnelly, Sir, 1813-1899, Moore, John, 1803-1885, Mossman, Samuel F., Nicholson, William, 1816-1865, Stawell, William Foster, Sir, 1815-1889, Strachan, James Ford, 1810-1875, Wills, Horatio Spencer Howe, 1811-1861, Wyatt, Alfred, 1819-1901
Published: Geelong : Printed by Heath and Cordell, 1855
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1854-55
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: Committee: James Harrison (chairman), Sir Andrew Clarke (surveyor general), William Haines, Sir James McCulloch, William Nicholson, Sir William Stawell (attorney general) and James Strachan
On Friday, 2nd February, 1855, Horatio Wills was appointed a member of the Select Committee to replace William Haines who had resigned
Witnesses: Francis Bell (civil engineer), Davenport Welch Collyns (sec. Geelong, Ballarat and North Western Railway Co.), John Alexander Gregory (solicitor GBNWRC) and Edward Snell (engineer)
Mr Michie appeared as counsel for the petitioners for the Bill. In the absence of Mr Michie, Mr Wyatt and Mr {John Alexander] Gregory appeared on behalf of the promoters
Appendix A: [Prospectus of] the Geelong, Ballarat, and Portland Railway Company (provisional committee: John Macgregor (chairman), William Bell, Thomas Chandler, John Kent, Donald Larnach, George T. Lloyd, Samuel Mossman, Francis Pigott and Joseph Wilkinson)
Appendix B: No. 1. letter 3rd Apr. 1854 from G. T. Lloyd to J. A. Gregory, No. 2. letter 29th Apr. 1854 from Samuel Mossman to the Chairman and Gentlemen forming the Provisional Committee of the GBNWRC, and No. 3 & 4. 2 letters 17th July & 6th Sept. 1854 from Davenport W. Collyns, secretary, to Samuel Mossman
Appendix C: engineers estimate of cost of construction of Geelong, Ballarat and North Western Railway - by Francis Bell
Appendix D: [Prospectus of the] Geelong, Ballarat, and North Western Railway Company (provisional committee: Charles N. Thorne (chairman), George Armitage, Alfred Bates, W. H. Baylie, George Board, W. H. Bonsey, J. G. Carr, Frederick Griffin, Silas Harding, John Highett, John Sleath Hill, J. B. Hutton, Jacob Montefiore, W. G. M'Kellar, Charles Nantes, James Noble, James Riley, Thomas Sheppard, Alexander Thomson, P. W. Welsh, John Wilson ; sec. Davenport Welch Collyns ; solicitor, J. A. Gregory ; engineer, Francis Bell)
Appendix E: letter 18th Sept. 1854 from J. H. Kay (Lieutenant Governor's private sec.) to D. W. Collyns
Appendix F: letter 16th Oct. 1854 from J. Moore, A.C.S., to D. W. Collyns
Appendix G: letter 4th Nov. 1854 from Samuel Mossman to D. W. Collyns
BOUND IN 1854/55 VOLUME 3 p. [1011-1039]
Physical Description: viii, 21p. ; 34cm.