Savings' Bank : report from the Select Committee on the Laws Relating to the Savings' Bank of Port Phillip : together with the proceedings of the Committee and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Legislative Council. Select Committee on the Laws Relating to the Savings' Bank of Port Phillip
Other Authors: Quinlan, Matthew, Childers, Hugh Culling Eardley, 1827-1896, Fawkner, John Pascoe, 1792-1869, Miller, Henry John, 1809-1888, Nicholson, William, 1816-1865, Russell, Andrew, 1808?-1867, Rutledge, William, 1806-1876, Stawell, William Foster, Sir, 1815-1889
Published: Melbourne : Printed by John Ferres at the Government Printing Office, 1853
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1852-53
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: Committee: Henry Miller (chairman), Hugh Childers (auditor general), John Fawkner, William Nicholson, Andrew Russell, William Rutledge and Sir William Stawell (attorney general)
Sole witness: George Mackay (barrister), also mentioned iii, Appendices A & B
Appendix A: Clonmel Savings' Bank ... year ending 20th November 1848 ... general statement of the funds of the Savings' Bank ...filled up pursuant to 9th Geo. 4 cap. 92 sec. 46 and returned to the National Debt Office within nine weeks after the 20th November 1848 pursuant to the 7th and 8th Victoria cap 83, sec. 13
Appendix B: Thurles Savings' Bank. Inspection of depositors' pass books, 11th and 12th Victoria chap. 133, and 13th and 14th Victoria chap. 10. Signed 20th day of November 1851 by Mat[t]hew Quinlan, Actuary
Other mentions: Arklow savings Bank 1, John Bagwell [9], Baltinglass Savings Bank 1, P[eter] R. Banfield [9], Bank of England 1,4, Bank of Ireland 1, Bray Savings Bank 1, Cashel Savings Bank 1, Thomas Chaytor (actuary) [9], William Davis (trustee Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], Earl of Donoughmore (pres. Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], Dublin (Ireland) 3,[10], Dumfriesshire (Scotland) 1, England 1,2,3,4,6,8, Samuel Fayle [9], Gerald Fitzgerald [9], Samuel Gordon (trustee Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], George Graham (committee Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], Great Britain 1, given as United Kingdom 3, [Gt. Britain]. Commissioners for the Reduction of the National Debt 1,4,[9], [Gt. Britain]. Master of the Rolls 1, [Gt. Britain. Parliament. House of Commons. Speaker] 1, [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (England) Act 1817 c. 130] iii,1, [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (England) Act 1818 c.48] probably the Act referred to as " ... since 1819. The Act passed in that year" 4, [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (Ireland) Act 1817 c. 105] 1, [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (Ireland) Act 1848 c. 133] iii,1,[10], [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (Ireland) Act 1850 c. 110] [10], [Gt. Britain. Savings Banks (Scotland) Act 1819 c. 62] 1, [Gt. Britain. Treasury] given as Chancellor of the Exchequer 1,Abraham Grubb [9], Benjamin Grubb [9], Joseph Grubb [9], Ireland 1,4,6, Edward Jones (trustee Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], Ambrose Lane [9], Richard Legge [9], London 3,4,Joshua Malcolmson [9], Robert Malcolmson [9], Melbourne 1, Melbourne Savings' Bank 3, Samuel Murphy [9], the Nation (Dublin newspaper) 6, James Newell [9], Rev. J[ohn] B. Palliser [9], B[ernard] P. Phelan [9], Colonel [Pownoll] Phipps [9], Charles A. Pim [9], John T. Pim [9], Provincial Bank of Ireland [9], Queen Street (Dublin) [9], Mat[t]hew Quinlan [10], Rothwell (Scotland) 1, Edward Sargint [9], Scotland 1, William Sibbald (manager Provincial Bank of Ireland) [9], James Smith (Melbourne Savings' Bank) 3, William Smith (committee Clonmel Savings' Bank) [9], Henry Strene [9], Vic. Attorney General 2, [Vic. Board of National education] given as Education Commissioners 8, Vic. Colonial Secretary 2, Vic. Legislative Council 2, Vic. Lieutenant Governor [Charles La Trobe) 2,6,7,8, [Vic. Savings' Bank of Port Phillip Laws Amendment Bill 1852] given as Bill now before the House 7, Vic. Treasury 2,3,Wexford Savings Bank 1,3, York Street (Dublin) [10]
BOUND IN 1852/53 VOLUME 2 p. [877-891]
Physical Description: iv, 8, [1]p., [1] folded leaf ; 33cm.