Report from the Select Committee of the Legislative Council on the Landing of Geelong Mails : together with the proceedings of the Committee, minutes of evidence and appendix

Corporate Author: Victoria. Legislative Council. Select Committee on the Landing of Geelong Mails
Other Authors: Cole, George Ward, 1793-1879, Cowie, James, 1809-1892, Greeves, Augustus Frederick Adolphus, 1805-1874, Griffith, Charles James, 1808-1863, Haines, William Clark, 1810-1866, Miller, Henry John, 1809-1888, Nicholson, William, 1816-1865, O'Shanassy, John, Sir, 1818-1883, Strachan, James Ford, 1810-1875
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1854
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1853-54, no. D 16
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Council to be printed 3rd March 1854"
Committee appointed 6th Oct. 1853: James Cowie (chairman), George Cole, James Strachan, Augustus Greeves, William Haines and William Nicholson. John O'Shanassy, Henry Miller and Charles Griffith were appointed 11th Oct. 1853
Witnesses: capt. [Godfrey] Bentley (Tasmania steam boat), Peter Burnett (commander ship Neleus), Donald Campbell (tide surveyor/coast waiter), David Cunningham (pilot), capt. [Charles] Ferguson, William Henry Flood (pilot), William Foy (lighthouse keeper Shortlands' Bluff), John Henry Freeyer (inspector water police Williamstown), capt. John Bulwer Godfrey, Thomas Hunt (health officer), Mr. Layton (pilot), capt. D. J. Macpherson [i.e. McPherson] (harbor master Geelong), [Alexander McCrae] (chief postmaster), George Mansfield (pilot), capt. Morriss R.N. (HMS Electra) capt. W. Murray, William Thacker (postmaster Geelong), W. Thomas (pilot), William Jackson Thomas (sub collector of Customs Geelong) and George Toulmin (pilot Port of Melbourne)
Physical Description: 9, 37p. ; 33cm.