Boundary line between Victoria and New South Wales : correspondence : return to address - Mr. Murphy 29th June 1852

Corporate Author: New South Wales. Governor (1838-1846 : Gipps)
Other Authors: Normanby, George Augustus Constantine Phipps, Marquis of, 1819-1890, Russell, John Russell, 1st Earl, 1792-1878
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1853
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1853-54, no. C 1
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Laid upon the Council table by the Colonial Secretary by order of His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor and ordered by the Council to be printed 31st August 1853"
Comprises - No. 144 letter from George Gipps (governor NSW) to George Phipps (Marquis of Normanby) - Extract from despatch of Lord J. Russell to Sir G. Gipps, dated 31st May, 1840 - No. 190 letter from George Gipps to Lord John Russell - Extract from petition alluded to in the foregoing despatch of the 19th of December, 1840 - Letter from Lord Stanley to Sir G. Gipps - Extract from Sir George Gipps despatch to Lord Stanley, 29th April, 1846, No. 90
Other mentions: 1st section of the local Act, 6th Victoria, No. 16 4, 2nd Section of the 5th and 6th Victoria, ch. 76 4, 22nd sec. of the 9th of George IV., ch. 83 3, Act passed at the end of the ordinary Session, for taking a census of the Colony 3, Acts of Legislature [of NSW relating to squatting] 2, Australia [1],3, Cape Howe (Vic.) 3,4, Central District or Colony [of NSW] 2,3, Colony [of NSW] 2,3, Commissioners appointed by the Governor of NSW [to determine the boundary of NSW and Vic] (proposed) 4, county of Maquarie (NSW) 2, District of Port Phillip [1],3, Downing St. 3, Executive Council (NSW) 3, Government [of NSW] 2,3, Government House (Sydney) [1],2, Governor [of NSW] [1],4, Mr La Trobe (supt. of Port Phillip) [1], land office [of NSW?] 2, Land Revenue of Central District 2, Legislative Council (NSW) 2,3,4, Lord Bishop of Australia 3, Middle District of NSW 2, Murray [river] [1],3,4, also given as River Hume 3, New South Wales [1],2,3, Northern District [i.e. NSW] 2, Port Phillip [1],3, Northern or South Divisions of the Country [i.e. NSW or Vic.] 3, Port Phillip District [1],3, [George Phipps, Marquis of Normanby], given as Your Lordship [1], Queen [Victoria] 2,3, given as Her Majesty 4, River Murrumbidgee [1], [Lord John Russell], given as Your Lordship 2,3, South Australia [1],4, Southern District [i.e. Victoria] 2, Sydney [1],2 and Sydney District [1]
Physical Description: 4p. ; 33cm.