Paris Universal Exhibition, 1878 : despatch and enclosures from the Right Honorable the Secretary of State for the Colonies relative to the part taken by the British colonies in the Paris Exhibition

Corporate Author: Great Britain. Colonial Office
Other Authors: Edward VII, King of Great Britain, 1841-1910, Hicks Beach, Michael, Sir, 1837-1916, Victoria. Governor (1873-1879 : Bowen)
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1879
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1879-80, no. 21
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Comprises: a circular letter from M. E. Hicks Beach (Secretary of State for the Colonies) to [Sir George Ferguson Bowen] (Governor of Victoria), a letter from Albert Edward, P. (H.R.H. the Prince of Wales) to M. E. Hicks Beach, and his reply
The Prince of Wales' letter to Hicks Beach mentions the names of Colonial Commissioners whose services have been secured as judges on the International Juries at the Paris Universal Exhibtion 1878 (p. 3). They are: Thomas C. Keefer, Dr S. P. May, Alfred Selwyn, W. E. Archambault (all of The Dominion), Edward Combes, Professor Liversedge (both of NSW), G. Collins Levey (Vic.), Josiah Boothby (Sth. Australia), Gustave Adam, Alphonse Lucas, Edward Elias (all of Mauritius) and Spencer Todd (Cape of Good Hope)
Other mentions: Gustave Adam p. 2, Agent-General in London p. 2, W. E. Archambault p. [1], Colville Barclay (officer Colonial Office/judge on International Juries) p. 3, Josiah Boothby (Under Sec. S. Aust.) p. 2, J. J. Casey MP (pres. Victoria Commission) p. 2, Colonial Museum (proposed) p. 3, Edward Combs MP (late Minister for Public Works/Executive Commissioner for NSW) p. 2, Dr J. Court p. 2, Edward Elias p. 2, Executive Commissioners of the Colonies p. 3, Captain [George] Harris (Royal Engineers) p. 2, A. Hodgson p. 2, Thomas Keefer p. [1], Sir Charles P. Layard (Ceylon) p. 2, G. Collins Levey (sec. to the Commission) p. 2, Professor [Archibald] Liversedge [i.e. Liversidge] p. 2, Alphonse Lucas p. 2, A. Macalister (chairman of the Commission) p. 2, Dr S. P. May p. [1], Minister of Agriculture p. [1], Minister of Public Works p. [1], Sir Philip Cunliffe-Owen (sec. Royal Commission) p. 2,3, Arthur H. Porter p. [1], T. P. Russell (NZ) p. 2, Alfred Selwyn (director of the Geological Survey) p. [1], P. L. Simmonds p. 2, Spencer Todd p. [1], William Walker p. 2
Physical Description: 3p. ; 33cm.