Victorian Railways : report of the Board of Land and Works for the year ending 31st December 1879

Corporate Author: Victoria. Board of Land and Works
Other Authors: Elsdon, William, 1829-1904, Labertouche, Peter Paul, 1827-1907, Lavater, George Theodore Adams, 1831-1915, Mirls, Solomon, 1843-1889, Murray, K. L. 1836?-1916, Patterson, James Brown, Sir, 1833-1895
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1880
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1880-81, no. 14
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
"J. B. Patterson, Commissioner of Railways and Vice-President of the Board of Land and Works"
"William Elsdon,, Engineer-in-Chief and General Manager"
"S. Mirls, Locomotive Superintendent"
"K. L. Murray, Telegraph Engineer"
"P. P. Labertouche, Secretary" Railway Department,
Geo. T. A. Lavater, Accountant" Railway Department
Contractors engaged year ending 31st Dec. 1879: A. Harkness and Co., A. McKenzie and Son, R. Aitchison, T. H. Amery, John Anderson, Atlas Company of Engineers, C. Beauchamp, H. Bell Jr., J. N. Bell, P. Bevan, Blair and Chadwick, R. R. Briggs, Brophy and Company, Buchanan and Nodrum, D. Canty, W. Chambers, E. Cholerton, Sali Cleve, G. Cooper (Warragul), Thomas Corley, W. E. Crofton, D. Leslie and Co., John Danks, D'Arcy and Dennis, Alfred Day (Sandhurst), A. Dempster, S. T. Douglas (Hamilton), J. Egan, Elliott and Jorgensen, J. Etheridge, Ferguson and Carlton, Fishburn and Morton, John Foot, Forman and Company, Jason Fraser, Fulton Foundry Co., Gamil and Wheeler, W. Griffiths, John Harker, H. Hobbs, A. Hope, Howard and Cooke, Humble and Nicholson, J. and T. Muir, J. F. Higgins and Co., J. H. Robinson and Sons, J. Horwood and Sons, J. Nation and Co., J. Paterson and Co., J. Sharp and Son, J. Stewart and Co., J. W. and J. Robson, R. Jack, Dennis King, King and Company, S. Lacey, W. H. Lamond, Langlands Foundry Co., John Lewis, Liddicoat and Scott, Lonie, Dingle and Co., J. McEwan, J. McGuire, McKenzie and Co., J. Mackintosh, McLean Brothers and Rigg, Mahood and Co., Mahoud and Mould, W. Marsh, C. and E. Millar, Monie and Mattinson, F. Monk, Morris and Begg, T. Mullen, J. D. Munro, C. Nash, Newton and Borland, Noble, Noonan Brothers, G. Paine, Phillips and Markwell, Phoenix Foundry Co., M. Powderly, Pritchard and Blackwood, R. Pyvis, W. Quayle, R. Bain and Son, Robison Brothers and Co., S. Belton and Co., James Silk, David Spence, James Sproule, J. Summerland, T. Cockram and Co., T. W. Cowley and Co., Taylor and Duguid (Colac), Thompson and Co., Robert Thornton, Topham, Angus and Smith, Henry Turnbull, Victoria Iron-Rolling Co., J. D. Vimpani, W. McCulloch and Co., Walker and Halliday, Walker, Hickman and Co., T. Walsh, J. S. White, J. Williams (Violet Town), Willis Brothers, Wright and Edwards and H. Zumstein
Other people/bodies mentioned: Thomas Finlayson (sec. Melb. and Hobson's Bay Railway Co.) p. 16, Melbourne and Hobson's Bay United Railway Co. p. 13,20, Melbourne International Exhibition p. 19, Postal Dept. p. 19, Spencer Street station p. 19, Woods' patent Automatic Continuous Brake p. 18 and Yarra Bank Works (hired from Mr Williams) p. 18
Physical Description: 48p. ; 33cm.