Lighthouses : correspondence respecting the lighting of the coast of the Colony

Corporate Author: John Lord & Co. (Birmingham, England)
Other Authors: Barnard, Edward, 1786-1861, Blacket, Edmund Thomas, 1817-1883, Ferguson, Charles George, 1813-1868, King, Phillip Parker, 1791-1856, Lonsdale, William, 1799-1864, Thomson, E. Deas Sir, 1800-1879, Weaver, William, 1800-1881, Victoria. Lieutenant Governor (1851-1854 : La Trobe)
Published: Melbourne : John Ferres, Government Printer, 1853
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1853-54, no. A 6
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Llaid upon the Council table by the Colonial Secretary by order of His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor and ordered by the Council to be printed 31st August 1853"
Comprises Lieut.-Governor C. J. La Trobe's minute of 16th June 1853 respecting the Gabo Island Lighthouse correspondence with the NSW Government, correspondence between Charles Ferguson (port and harbor master Williamstown, Vic.) and Vic. colonial secretary William Lonsdale, John Lord & Co. (Birmingham, England) to Messrs. Ryrie Brothers, between NSW col. sec. E. Deas Thomson and Vic. col. sec. William Lonsdale, between NSW colonial architect Edmund T. Blacket and NSW col. sec. E. Deas Thomson, between NSW colonial architect's office clerk of works William Weaver and Edmund T. Blackett, between Captain Phillip P. King R.N. and NSW col. sec. E. Deas Thomson and from Edward Barnard to William Wilkins (lighthouse engineer London)
Other mentions: James Balmain (acting colonial architect Vic.) 3, Barwon Heads 2, Birmingham 2, Cape Howe 5,6,7,8, Cape Howe Lighthouse [1],3,5,10,11, Cape Northumberland Lighthouse (S. Aust.) 2,3, Cape Otway Lighthouse 3, Cape Schanck [1], Cleft Island 3, Eden (NSW) 6, England [1],5, Professor [Michael] Faraday 11, Gabo Island 4,5,7,8,Gabo Island Lighthouse 3,4, Mr [Henry] Ginn [1], Captain [Phillip Parker] King R.N. 5,8, His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor [Charles J. La Trobe] [1],2,3,4,5,9,10, Liverpool (England) 2, London (england) 11, Long Acre (London) 11, John Lord & Co. (Birmingham, England) 2, also given as "a Birmingham House" 2, Mr. [Robert George] Massie 6, Melbourne 4,9, "Mudgee" [i.e. Nadgee] NSW 6, [NSW] Auditor General 4, [NSW] Colonial Architect's Department 3,5,10, [NSW] Executive Council 5, New South Wales Govt. [1],3,4,9, [NSW.] Governor (given as Governor-General)/Sir Charles Fitzroy 4,7,9, [NSW] Legislative Council 10, [NSW. Office of the Colonial Storekeeper] given as the Colonial Store 9, Paramatta [NSW] 7, Point Lonsdale [1],2, Noora Barba [i.e. Narrabarba] Station (NSW) 6, Paramatta (NSW) 7, [Port Phillip] Heads [1], President (ship) 2, Rosse's [William Parsons, Earl of Rosse?] lifting handles 12, Ryrie Brothers [Donald & William] 2, Shortland's Bluff 2, Mr. Skeen [i.e. Alexander Skene] 2, South Australia 3, South Australian Govt. 3, the late Captain [Owen] Stanley 5,7, Sydney 3,4,6,8,9,10, Tenasserim (ship) 2, Towamba or Walker River [NSW] 6, Twofold Bay (NSW) 6,8, [Vic.] Colonial Secretary's Office 4, [Vic.] Legislative Council [1],9, [Vic. Ports and Harbours Office] given as Harbor Master's department 3, Mr. [William] Weaver 5,7,8, R. Wilkins and Son (London, England) 11, William Wilkins (lighthouse engineer London) 11, Williamstown [1],2, Wilson's Promontory (given as Cape Wilson) 3, Wilson's Promontory Lighthouse 2-3, Womboyne River (NSW) 6,
Physical Description: 12p. ; 33cm.