Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways on the question of narrow-gauge railways : together with the minutes of evidence and appendices

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Standing Committee on Railways
Other Authors: Ampt, Gustav Adolph, b. 1853, Back, Frederick, ca. 1845-1910, Bagnall, William Gordon, 1852-1907, Bell, Horace, Sir, 1830-1918, Brahe, William Alexander, 1825-1917, Brancher, A., Bryce, James Bryce, Viscount, 1838-1922, Buchanan, James, 1827-1914, Burton, John Balfour, 1842-1918, Calthrop, Everard Richard, 1857-1927, Cameron, Ewen Hugh, 1831-1915, Carne, H., Craven, Albert William, 1855-1913, Dawson, Frederick R., Deane, Henry, 1827-1924, Forbes, V. V., Glehn, Alexander von, Hammond, Walter J., Harris, Albert, 1842?-1910, Heywood, Arthur Percival, Sir, 1849-1916, Kent, Robert George, 1843-1914, Melville, Donald, 1829?-1919, Morey, Edward, 1832-1907, Noyes, Henry Obed, 1861-1922, Pillinger, Alfred Thomas, 1839-1899, Rendel, Alexander Meadows, Sir, 1829-1918, Rennick, Francis T., 1838-1915, Robarts, W. H., Royce, George Herbert, Trenwith, William Arthur, 1846-1925, Velde, Clement van de, Warburton, F. T., Watson, Thomas Greenlees, 1859-1912, White, J. Walwyn, White, John Samuel, 1837-1926, Woodley, Sydney, Bloomfield Brothers (Melbourne, Vic.), Bochumer Verein, Decauville (Firm), George H. Royce and Co.
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1896
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1895-96, Railways Standing Committee report no. 2
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed, 10th October, 1895"
Committee: Ewen Hugh Cameron (chairman), James Buchanan, John Balfour Burton, Albert William Craven, Albert Harris, Donald Melville, Edward Morey, William Arthur Trenwith and John Samuel White
Witnesses examined by the Second Railways Standing Committee in 1894: Gustav Ampt (civil engineer Vic. Railways), David Anderson (patentee), Joshua Thomas Noble Anderson (civil/mechanical engineer), John M. Bagot (civil engineer), William Henry Bloomfield (contractor/importer), Walter Camfield (ex state schoolmaster), John M. Coane (civil/hydraulic engineer Melbourne), William Conyers (commissioner NZ Railways), John Crott [also spelled Crotto] (inspector Metropolitan Board of Works), Henry Coathupe Mais (civil/mechanical engineer), Charles E. Norman (engineer existing lines Vic. Railways), William Peters (contractor ex Vic. Railways), Francis Rennick (engineer-in-chief Vic. Railways), Richard Richardson MLA (Minister for Railways), J. W. Foster Rogers (traveller/inventor), Charles Sargeant MLC (saw-miller), Thomas Short (civil/consulting engineer), Clement Van de Velde (civil engineer Sydney) and Thomas Hale Woodroffe (acting commissioner Vic. Railways)
The proceedings of the Second Committee terminated with the dissolution of Parliament on 4th September 1894, however, the Third Committee comprised the same people
Witnesses examined by the Third Railways Standing Committee in 1895: Alexander E. Duguid (architect), Henry William Hargrave (civil engineer), William C. Kernot (engineering professor Melbourne University), Charles E. Norman, James Quan (ex railway manager/civil engineer), Francis Rennick, John Robb (railway contractor) Robert A. Robertson (saw-miller), J. W. Foster Rogers MLA, James Styles MLA, Frederick Upham (engineer), Clement Van de Velde, Thomas Hale Woodroffe and Sir William Austin Zeal (president Legisative Council)
Appendix A: return showing capital cost, revenue, working expenses, interest charges and traffic on seven branch railway lines in Victoria compiled by Thos G. Watson (clerk of Committees)
Appendix C: Light Railways or Tramways by W. G. Bagnall (W. G. Bagnall Ltd Engineers, Castle Engine Works, Stafford, England) letter to the editor extracted from Birmingham Daily Post Monday 9th April 1894
Appendix F: Two-feet gauge railways in Germany : the Znin narrow-gauge line - extract from the Berliner Boersen-Zeitung 12th July 1894 certified as a correct translation by W. A. Brahe (German Consul)
Appendix G: The Laon steep-gradient Railway by A. Brancher - extracted from Le Genie Civil, vol. xiii (1888) pp. 75 and 169
Appendix H: letter to the Victorian Premier from Colonel V. V. Forbes (sec Indian Public Works Dept.) re. narrow-gauge railways in India
Appendix K: extracts from information supplied to the Minister for Railways by Mr. W. H. Robarts of India re. Indian narrow-gauge railways
Appendix L: Report from Fred. Back (general manager Tasmanian Govt. Railways) to Thomas G. Watson (clerk of Committees, Parliament House Melbourne) on narrow-gauge tramways
Appendix M: Report from Fred. Back to A. T. Pillinger MHA (Minister for Railways Hobart) on 2-ft gauge tramway authorized by the Govt. of Tasmania to be constructed from Zeehan to North-East Dundas (16 miles)
Appendix N: extracts from information collected by the Agent-General for Victoria on the subject of narrow-gauge railways - comprising report by Sir Alexander Rendel (consulting engineer to the Indian Govt.) including extract from tables attached to a report compiled by Sir Horace Bell (late consulting engineer to the Indian Govt.) re. the standard dimensions for railway gauge in India, descriptions of British 3-ft. gauge lines (the Southwold Railway by H. Carne, the Londonderry and Loch Swilly and Letterkenny Railway by Fred. Dawson & the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway by Sydney Woodley), and a description of the 15-in. gauge experimental railway at Duffield Bank, Derby, England by A. Percival Heywood
Appendix O: extracts from articles & letters in the Times newspaper (forwarded to the Committee by the Agent-General for Victoria), signed by A. Percival Heywood, Alexr von Glehn (agent for the Decauville Railways), J. Walwyn White, Lieut.-Col. F. T. Warburton (retired Lieut-Colonel), Horace Bell, Walter J. Hammond (M. Inst. C.E.), Everard R. Calthrop (late asst locomotive supt Great Indian Peninsula Railway) and [James] Bryce (pres. British Board of Trade)
Appendix Q: copies of documents (forwarded to the Committee by Richard Richardson, Minister of Railways), signed by Geo. H. Royce (George H. Royce and Co engineers and contractors Kempsey NSW), C[lement] Van de Velde (Australian agent for Decauville narrow-gauge lines), Henry Noyes (for Fried. Krupp) and Bloomfield Brothers (Melbourne agents for Bochumer Verein 2-ft. gauge lines)
Appendix R: replies to Questions Asked By the Railways Standing Committee in letter of 5th September 1894 signed R. G. Kent (sec. for Railways)
Appendix S: Narrow gauge survey from Cunninghame to Orbost : report by F. Rennick (engineer-in-chief) and estimates of cost signed G. A. [Gustave Adolph Ampt] & F. R. [Francis T. Rennick]
Appendix T: Narrow gauge survey from Moondarra to Walhall Railway - Moe to Walhalla : report by F. Rennick (engineer-in-chief) and estimates of cost signed G. A., F. Rennick
Appendix U: Narrow gauge survey from Jumbunna to Outtrim : report by F. Rennick (engineer-in-chief) and estimates of cost signed G. A., F. Rennick
Appendix V: estimates by the engineer-in-chief (Francis T. Rennick) for cost of the permanent way for 3 classes of broad-gauge railway and 2 classes of narrow-gauge
Appendix W: copy of Report on some differences in railway practice in Australia, England and America : with special reference to economy of construction - by the engineer-in-chief for railway construction NSW (H. Deane)
BOUND IN 1895/96 VOLUME 2A p. 261-488
Physical Description: lxxxiv, 142p., [8] leaves of plates : ill., folded plans ; 33cm.

Similar Items