Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways on the question of further extension of railways in the Mallee Districts : together with the minutes of evidence and appendices

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Standing Committee on Railways
Other Authors: Buchanan, James, 1827-1914, Burton, John Balfour, 1842-1918, Cameron, Ewen Hugh, 1831-1915, Cobham, Alexander B., Craven, Albert William, 1855-1913, Harris, Albert, 1842?-1910, Melville, Donald, 1829?-1919, Morey, Edward, 1832-1907, Trenwith, William Arthur, 1846-1925, White, John Samuel, 1837-1926
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1895
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1895-96, Railways Standing Committee report no. 1
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed, 25th July, 1895"
Committee: Ewen Hugh Cameron (chairman), James Buchanan, John Balfour Burton, Albert William Craven, Albert Harris, Donald Melville, Edward Morey, William Arthur Trenwith and John Samuel White
Witnesses: Charles E. Albrecht (civil engineer Swan Hill), James Allan [also spelled Allen], (wheat-grower Joop), Charles Ampt (farmer Jeparit district), Andrew Anderson (MLA for Kara Kara), Frank Bassett (farmer Sea Lake), John Paul Carolin (merchant Bendigo), John Carruthers (station manager/farmer Tyrrell Downs), Samuel Carter (sheep-farmer Albacutya), William C. Carter (manager Pine Plains Station), Alexander B. Cobham (farmer Waitchie), Benjamin Crossthwaite (agent Murtoa), Walter Joseph Crowther (surveyor/valuator Horsham), William Cumming (station manager Hopetoun), Henry Davenport (storekeeper Lorquon), Stephen Davis (farmer Waitchie), Henry Dobson (farmer Birchip), Arthur Dufty (farmer Lorquon West), John Dufty (farmer Lorquon), Arthur Dufty (farmer Lorquon West), Walter Duncan (miller Warracknabeal), David Duthie (farmer Lorquon West), John O. Edwards (auctioneer/commission agent Wentworth), David Elder (manager New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company), Robert E. Finlay (sec. Planters' Union Mildura), William Francis Fitzpatrick (deputy traffic manager Vic. Railways), Daniel Fraser (farmer Sea Lake), John Charles Gamble (surveyor Quambatook), Samuel D. Glyde (horticultural settler Mildura), Herbert Graham (manager Fruit-growers' Assoc. Mildura), John Grey [also spelled Gray] (auctioneer/farmer Swan Hill), Arthur Hague (farmer nr Marlbed), Aaron Hamlyn (farmer nr. Minapre), James Harvey (farmer Birchip), Richard R. Harvey (mayor Wentworth), Joseph Hayes (Mallee branch Crown Lands Office), James Richard Ingram (farmer/grazier Quambatook), William John Ingram (farmer Lalbert),William Kendall (JP/farmer Brim & Hopetoun), Edward H. Lascelles (woolbroker/grazier/farmer Hopetoun & Geelong), Percival G. D. Lavater (sec. Shire of Mildura/fruit grower), Daniel Barnet Lazarus (MLA for Sandhurst), John Leary (hotelkeeper Wentworth), Hugh McCann (crown lands bailiff Horsham), Alfred Mackay (farmer/publican Netherby), Duncan McKenzie (farmer Kenmare), Hugh McCann (crown lands bailiff Horsham), William Macdonald (grazier Nhill), Donald McInnes (station manager Albacutya), Nathaniel B. McKay (journalist/horticulturalist Mildura), William McLellan (MLA for Ararat), Donald McLennan (agent/farmer Crosby's Tank), John McLennann (Dimboola Shire councillor), Charles G. Macmahon (hotelkeeper &c. Wentworth), John McManus (farmer Nine Mile), William McMoonies (storekeeper Swan Hill), James B. Marshall (farmer Lorquon West), Peter Mazou (manager Chaffey Brothers' vineyard Mildura), Michael Meehan (farmer Lalbert), George D. Murdoch (surveyor Yellangip), William Murphy (farmer Birchip district), William Nalder (farmer Towaninnie), James O'Connor (farmer Wycheproof & Ultima), Alexander D. Patterson (pres. Murtoa Progress Committee), George Proudfoot (manager Preserving Company Mildura/horticulturalist), Francis Rennick (engineer-in-chief Vic. Railways), Horace Frank Richardson (mayor Geelong/pres. Geelong branch of the Hopetoun and Mildura League), Joseph John Roberts (farmer Waitchie), Otto Hermann Roedeger (farmer Lorquon), Edward William Sampson (crown lands bailiff Swan Hill) James William Saunders (farmer Jeparit), John Saunders (farmer Jeparit), Arthur Scott (chairman North-West Vermin Board Jeparit), Peter Scott (farmer Birchip), Duncan Sinclair (farmer Jeparit), Henry Smith (farmer Sea Lake), William John Smith (farmer Cookey's Plain), John Steedman (farmer Sea Lake), Henry Stinchcoombe (farmer nr Lorquon), William Sutcliff (farmer Sea Lake district), Augustus Charles Tampion (farmer Lalbert), George Hall Tolley (sec. Irrigation Company Mildura), Tom H. Turner (surveyor Horsham), William J. Waddingham (local manager Chaffey Brothers Ltd. Mildura), James G. Watson (farmer Sea Lake), James Wells (farmer Waitchie), Frederick Welsh (farmer near Lorquon), Herbert John Wigmore (manager River Murray Navigation Company), Frederick William Wilks (town clerk Wentworth), Henry Williams (storekeeper Mildura) and William Harvey Wood (grazier Tittybong near Lalbert),
Includes witnesses examined before the first Railways Standing Committee in 1891 and 1892: William [John] Allen (curer & dryer of fruit Mildura), William Bowring (storekeeper Yelta), Frederick W. Browne (manager McCulloch Carrying Company), James Bruce (traffic manager's asst. Vic. Railways), George Chaffey (Chaffey Brothers Mildura), Francis Conestant (Mildura), John Thomas Cosgrave (shipping manager Dalgety and Co. Ltd.), John Oliver Edwards (auctioneer/commission agent Wentworth), Charles French (govt. entomologist) Herbert Graham (fruit-grower Mildura), John F. Hanley (storeman Mildura), Joseph Hayes (Mallee branch Crown Lands Department), William L. Higgins (stock & station agent Wentworth), Edward H. Lascelles (woolbroker Geelong), Percival Lavater (shire engineer Mildura), C. W. R. Lawson William McCulloch (MLC Province of Gippsland), Daniel J. McHenry (ex-sub-collector of Customs Yelta), Nathaniel B. McKay (journalist/horticulturalist Mildura), Charles G. McMahon (hotelkeeper/grazier Wentworth), David Morgan (inspector of stock), William Nicholas (Union Mortgage Company Melb.), William McG. Patterson (station manager Chaffey Brothers Mildura), Thomas Permewan (general carrier Melbourne), Henry George Price (mayor Wentworth), George H. Risby (sawmiller/timber merchant Mildura), Arthur Scott, Henry Williams (late storekeeper Mildura) and Joseph Wiltshire (Newport Workshops)
BOUND IN 1895/96 VOLUME 2A p. 1-259
Physical Description: xxxviii, 174, 45p. : fold col. map 33cm.