Progress report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways on the question of further extension of railways in the Mallee Districts : together with the appendices and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Standing Committee on Railways
Other Authors: Buchanan, James, 1827-1914, Cameron, Ewen Hugh, 1831-1915, Craven, Albert William, 1855-1913, Harris, Albert, 1842?-1910, Kent, Robert George, 1843-1914, Langlands, J., Lascelles, Edward Harewood, 1847-1817, Mathieson, John, 1846-1906, Melville, Donald, 1829?-1919, Morey, Edward, 1832-1907, Styles, James, 1841-1913, Trenwith, William Arthur, 1846-1925, White, John Samuel, 1837-1926, Victoria. Dept. of Crown Lands and Survey
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1898
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1898, Railways Standing Committee report no. 3
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed, 28th June, 1898"
Committee: E. H. Cameron (Chairman), J. Buchanan, A. W. Craven, A. Harris, D. Melville, E. Morey, J. Styles, W. A. Trenwith and J. S. White.
Witnesses examined: John Sanders (farmer Werrap), William Thomas (farmer Willenabrina), James Bonnor Witney (farmer Jeparit), Francis James Chaplin (farmer Hindmarsh North), Henry Dunn (farmer Werrap), Sydney Sampson (newspaper prop. Jeparit), John Henry Sleep (farmer Werrap), Thomas Ward (wheat agent Jeparit), James Allen (farmer Willenabrina/Joop), John William Sanders (farmer Willenabrina), Richard Johns (farmer Joop), Henry Marshman (farmer Willenabrina), Richard Harris Nottle (farmer Willenabrina), Francis Anthony Milte (farmer Minapre), John Brock (farmer Cronomby), George A. W. Proctor (farmer Cronomby), Arthur Wellesley Hood (farmer Cronomby), Aaron Hamlyn (farmer Minapre), John Turriff (station manager Lake Tyrrell), Donald J. A. Leitch (labourer Corrong), John William Thomas (sec./inspector Warracknabeal Vermin Board), William Henry Smith (farmer Maidavale north-east of Hopetoun), Philip Grogan (farmer Curyo), Peter Scott (farmer Curyo), Alexander McPhee (farmer Curyo), Arthur Trewin (farmer Curyo), John Bankin (farmer Curyo), Frederick W. Noske (farmer Curyo), Edwin Marchment (farmer south-west of Curyo), William Murphy (farmer Curyo), John William Bennett (farmer north-east of Lalbert), Richard Booth (farmer Tittibong near Lalbert), Bernard Francis Kavanagh (farmer north of Lalbert), Henry Edward Ickmott & Michael Meehan (both farmers Lalbert), Paul Albert Alfred Anders (farmer east of Lalbert), John Kelly (farmer Lalbert), William Tampion (farmer Lalbert), Edward Shepherd (farmer north of Lalbert), Archibald Grey (farmer north of Lalbert), Joseph Smith (farmer Lalbert), John Sutherland (farmer 22 miles north of Sea Lake), Ephraim Hewett (farmer Sea Lake), James Watson (farmer 15 miles west from Sea Lake), William Henry Odgers (farmer 16 miles west from Sea Lake), Walter Pomeroy (farmer 14 miles north-west from Sea Lake), Randolph M. Kemp [also spelt R. W. Kemp] (farmer Sea Lake), James Prentice (farmer Sea Lake), William Sutcliff (farmer Sea Lake), John P. Conlan (farmer 16 miles north-west from Sea Lake), William John Camp (farmer Berriwillock), John Thomas Procter [also spelt J. P. Proctor] (agent/auctioneer Charlton), John Crossar (farmer Charlton), Joseph Ogburn (chemist Charlton), Edward H. Lascelles (mallee lessee Lake Corrong), Arthur Scott (farmer Jeparit) and John Mathieson (commissioner Vic. Railways).
Appendices include various returns and reports by R. G. Kent and John Mathieson, and, Rainfall in the Mallee and the Wimmera : copies of letters and rainfall statistics handed in by Mr. E. H. Lascelles when giving evidence (consisting of Agricultural Settlement in the Mallee by E. H. Lascelles (published in The Argus), and, A Rain Record by J. Langlands (published in the Horsham Times).
BOUND IN 1898 VOLUME 2A p. 113-174
Physical Description: 62p. ; 33cm.