Report of the Board Appointed by His Excellency the Governor in Council to Inquire into the Grievances of Cabmen : together with minutes of evidence /

Corporate Author: Victoria. Cabmen's Grievances Board
Other Authors: Bromley, Frederick Hadkinson, 1854-1908, Bennett, George Henry, 1850-1908, Duffus, James Francis, 1853?-1923, Hunt, Thomas, 1841-1934, Hutchinson, William, 1864-1924, Sangster, George, 1845-1915
Published: Melbourne : J. Kemp, Acting Government Printer, 1907
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1907, no. 25
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
The Board was appointed by an order-in-council on 30th January 1907 to continue the work of the former Cabmen's Grievances Committee of the Legislative Assembly and completed its report on 30th July 1907
Board: Frederick Hadkinson Bromley (Chairman), George Henry Bennett, James Francis Duffus, Thomas Hunt, William Hutchinson and George Sangster - all members of the Legislative Assembly
Witnesses: John Burns (cab driver), Donald Cameron (town clerk Essendon), William Cawsey (cab owner/contractor Spencer Street Station Yard), John Clayton (town clerk Melbourne), James Coghlan (cab owner), Alfred Frederick Curtis (asst. inspector of hackney carriages), John Daniels (cab owner), Thomas James Davey (councillor Melbourne City Corporation), James Davies (sec. Commercial Travellers' Association), James Dynon (alderman Melbourne City Corporation), William John Edwards (cab owner), William Francis Fitzpatrick (acting chairman Vic. Railway Commissioners), Patrick Gleeson (cab owner), James Griffin (cab owner), John Hart (cab driver), William Henry Hatton (pres. Cab Owners' Owners' and Drivers' Protective and Benefit Union), Francis Hopwood (cab driver), John Alexander Hurrey (sawmiller Melbourne), George Ethelbert Lawson (sec. Cab ... Union), Samuel Lazarus (cab proprietor), William Edwin Lee (cab owner), Thomas Francis Lyons (councillor Essendon), Alexander McCarthy (cab driver), Patrick William McGrath (sec. Federated Carters' and Drivers' Industrial Union), James Mason (cab owner), Mr "A" (livery stable employee), Mr "B" (cab driver), Charles Pitt (cab owner), John Robinson (cab driver), James Ryan (cab owner), Patrick Sheehan [i.e. Skeehan?] (ex-constable), Thomas Weeson (cab owner), Joseph Williams (cab owner/sec. Geelong branch Cab Owners' ... Union)
Physical Description: xv, 99p. ; 33cm.