Minutes of evidence and appendices /

Corporate Author: Victoria. Royal Commission on Railway and Tramway Systems of Melbourne and Suburbs
Other Authors: Broadhurst, B., Champion, Henry Vere, Dureau, David Henry, Emery, George Edwin, 1859-1937, Eveleth, C. E., Goodman, William George Toop, Sir, 1872-1961, Karplus, Walter, Kendall, Alfred W., McElroy, J. M., Mackey, John Emanuel, Sir, 1863-1924, Membrey, James George, 1862-1940, Solly, Robert Henry, 1859-1932, Sternberg, Joseph, 1852?-1928, Stone, William, 1858-1949, Templeton, H. B., Wilson, Reginald P.
Published: Melbourne : J. Kemp, Government Printer, 1912
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1912, no. 16
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Commission: J. E. Mackey (Chairman), J. G. Membrey, R. H. Solly, J. Sternberg, H. V. Champion, G. E. Emery and D. H. Dureau.
Witnesses A - H: Alfred William Harold Akehurst (Glen Iris Progress League/Assocation), Robert G. R. Ball (Heidelberg Shire councillor), Arthur Batson (town clerk Fitzroy), Robert Beckett (Camberwell Town councillor), Leonard V. Biggs (journalist), John Lavington Bonython (acting mayor Adelaide), Orlando William Brain (elect. engineer NSW Government Railways and Tramways), Joseph Henry Draper Brearley [also spelled Brearly] (civil and electrical engineer), James Burston & William White [i.e. Whyte] Cabena (both Melbourne City councillors), William Calder (engineer City of Prahran), Alexander Cameron (chairman Prahran and Malvern Tramways Trust), Richard Gardiner Casey (chairman Victoria Racing Club), Carlo Catani (chief engineer Public Works Dept.), John Clayton (town clerk Melbourne), John Herbert Cook (alderman Henley South Aust.), Frank Cornwall (Malvern City councillor & Prahran and Malvern Tramways Trust), George Robert Cowdery [also spelled Cowderoy] (engineer NSW Government Tramways), Robert Cruickshank (Municipal Tramways Trust Adelaide), Henry Allan Currie (chairman Victoria Amateur Turf Club), David Elliott Davies (mayor Richmond), Septimus Davis (traffic auditor Qld. Railways), Harry John Charles Diddams (mayor Brisbane), Harry Sydney Dix (manager Prahran and Malvern Tramways Trust), George Smith Duncan (engineer Melbourne Tramways and Omnibus Co.), Robert Arthur Edmanson (Brighton Town councillor), Torrington G. Ellery (town clerk Adelaide), Benjamin James Ferdinando (Moorabbin Shire councillor), William Francis Fitzpatrick (chairman Victorian Railways Commissioners), Eustace Menotti Flannagan (Brighton Beach District Progress Association), Sir Samuel Gillott (Melbourne City councillor), William George Toop Goodman (manager Adelaide Municipal Tramways), William M. Gordon (city surveyor Sydney), Matthew Wood Green (clergyman rep. Beaumaris & Sandringham Districts), Percival St. John Hall ( Caulfield Town councillor), William Hayes (Northcote Town councillor), Sydney Thurston Haynes (auctioneer rep. the municipalities of Hawthorn, Malvern & Camberwell and Tooronga Progress Association), Thomas Henley MLA (NSW), George Hills (mayor Footscray), John Edward Hinton (Brisbane Fire Brigade), Walter Hiscock (ex-Mayor Kew) and Frederic G. Hughes (St. Kilda City councillor),
Witnesses J - Z: Tom Richard Johnston (chief commissioner NSW Govt. Railways and Tramways), John McCallum Jolly (Australian Metal Co.), Walter Karplus (rep. Siemens Bros. Dynamo Works (London)/Siemens Schuckertwerke (Berlin & Nuremberg)), Alfred W. Kendall (manager Australian General Electric Co.), John Kneeshaw (traffic supt. NSW Govt. Tramways), William M. L'Estrange (manager City Electric Co. Brisbane), John James Liston (Williamstown town councillor), Carl Otto Marschner (director Commonwealth Cartridge Co./ Molden and Budden Co. & Collingwood city councillor), James T. Mellor (Municipal Tramways Trust Adelaide), James Kerr Merritt (Kew town councillor), David Methven (Brunswick city councillor), Alfred G. Milson (mayor North Sydney), Thomas Barry Molomby (Vic. Railways Dept.), Alexander B. Moncrieff (commissioner South Australian Railways/chairman Municipal Tramways Trust Adelaide), H. Byron Moore (sec. Victoria Racing Club), Thomas Wilde Moule (sec. Victoria Amateur Turf Club), Adrian Charles Mountain (city surveyor Melb.), Arthur Douglas Murdoch (North Melb. Electric Lighting and Tramway Co.), Thomas H. Nesbitt (town clerk Sydney), John R. G. Nicolson (mayor Prahran), Thomas O'Callaghan (chief commissioner Victoria Police), Morris M. Phillips (vice-pres. Australian Native Association ( Vic.)), Robert Phillips (Caulfield town councillor), Albert Pointing (mayor Paddington NSW), Walter J. Carre-Riddell (chairman Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works), Alfred Robertson (pres. Shire of Preston), Henry Rooks (mayor Camberwell), Percy Rosling (Victorian Institute of Electrical Engineers), Percy J[oseph]. Russell (Municipal Association of Victoria), Arthur F. Showers (mayor Essendon), Thomas H. Smeaton (MHA South Aust.), Bernhard [also spelled Bernard] Alexander Smith (engineer Williamstown Council), Thomas Smith (Port Melbourne councillor/former MP), John Alexander Springhall (Coburg borough councillor), William Stone (elect. engineer Victorian Railways Dept.), West Outtrim Strangward (Melb. Tramways Trust), George Swinburne MLA (Hawthorn), Sir Thomas Tait (ex chairman Victorian Railways Commissioners), Allen Arthur Taylor (lord mayor Sydney), Francis Trezise (licensed victualler/pres. Shire of Templestowe), James Turnbull (supt. engineer Melbourne Tramways and Omnibus Co.), Augustus Vialoux (town clerk Paddington NSW), Alfred Webb (chief officer NSW Fire Brigades), Reginald P. Wilson (consulting engineer Merz and McLellan London), Sydney Herbert Wilson (Malvern city councillor) and August Zerbe (orchardist/pres. Shire of Doncaster)
Appendix 2: Electrification of the Melbourne suburban railways : economic features of continuous current system as compared with the single-phase alternating current system : discussion of electrical system best adapted for the suburban lines at Melbourne submitted by General Electric Company USA (by A. W. Kendall manager Australian General Electric Co. and C. E. Eveleth Railway and Traction Engineering Dept.)
Appendix 2A: Suburban railways and tramways of Melbourne : report on electrification submitted by the British Thomson-Houston Co. Ltd. Rugby 31st July 1911.
Appendix 3: Single-phase and direct current electric railways : notes submitted to the Commission by A. W. Kendall (manager Australian General Electric Co. Melbourne).
Appendix 5: Statistical details of electrified railways submitted by W. Stone (Victorian Railways Dept.)
Appendix 6: Electric railway statistics furnished by W. Karplus
Appendix 10: Electrification of the Melbourne tramway system : notes on the establishment of an electric power supply by Messrs. Merz, McLellan and Wilson (including correspondence from Reginald P. Wilson (Merz & McLellan), B. Broadhurst (general manager Brush Electrical Engineering Co.), Hurst Nelson & Co. and the United Electric Car Co. Ltd.
Appendices 11,13, 15 and 20A: submissions from W. G. T. Goodman (manager Municipal Tramways Trust Adelaide)
Appendix 15: The City of Manchester tramways system (details supplied by general manager J. M. McElroy 17th March 1911)
Appendix 16: Posting-bags on tram cars in vogue in Brisbane (H. B. Templeton Deputy Postmaster-General)
Physical Description: xvi, 836p., [26] p. of plates : ill., fold. map, plans (1 fold.) ; 33cm.