Hospitals for the insane : report of the Inspector-General of the Insane for the year ended 31st December 1915

Corporate Author: Victoria. Lunacy Dept.
Other Authors: Barker, Walter Herbert, 1854-1924, Catarinich, John Charles, 1882-1974, Gamble, Morris Frederick Horsley, 1866-1931, Godfrey, Clarence George Sheffield, 1867-1948, Jones, William Ernest, 1867-1957, Lethbridge, Robert Wellesley, b. 1857, Lind, William Alexander Teas, 1881-1928, Lynch, Herbert Seaton, b. 1861, Philpott, Albert John William, 1873-1950, Steell, John, b. 1859, Victoria. Chief Secretary's Dept.
Published: Melbourne : Albert J. Mullett, Government Printer, 1916
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1916, no. 36
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament pursuant to Act 6 Geo. V. No. 2687, Section 19"
Report "To the Honorable the Chief Secretary"
"W. Ernest Jones, Inspector-General of Insane"
Includes references to the reports to W. Ernest Jones of medical superintendents [J. Steell] (Hospital for the Insane Yarra Bend), M. Gamble (Hospital for Insane Kew), [A. J. W. Philpott] (Hospital for the Insane Ararat), J. Catarinich (Hospital for Insane Beechworth), R. W. Lethbridge (Hospital for the Insane Sunbury), Clarence Godfrey (Hospital for the Insane Royal Park & Receiving House Royal Park/Military Mental Hospital) and Walter Barker (Receiving House Ballarat)
Includes report on the cost of maintenance for the Dept. from H. Seaton Lynch (chief clerk/accountant) and report from W. A. T. Lind (Royal Park pathological laboratory)
Other people/bodies mentioned: Dr Callander (ex Royal Park on war duties) p. 29, Miss Cumming [i.e. Anna Cummins] (resigned as matron Royal Park) p. 28, Defence Dept. p. [3],36,37, 14th Auxiliary Hospital of the 3rd Military District (convalescent military hospital occupying the new "laundry" block Mont Park) p.38, Gallipoli p. 37, Dr Hollow (succeeded Dr Woinarski deceased at Mont Park & replaced by Dr Catarinich at Beechworth) p. 28,29, matron A. Holmes (Military Mental Hospital Royal Park) p. 31,37, Dr Lethbridge (Sunbury) p. 28, Dr Lind (Children's Dept. Kew) p. 27, Dr J. V. McCreery (electrical treatment dept. Royal Park) p. 29, Military Mental Hospital Royal Park p. [3],36,37, Mott p. 33, Dr Naylor (Sunbury) p. 28, Red Cross Society p. 37,38, St Vincent's Hospital p. 28, State Service Patriotic Fund p. 38, Sunbury Hospital p. 28, Special War Mental Treatment Act p. 37, War Mental Treatment Act p. [3] and Dr Woinarski p. 29
Members of the Lunacy Dept. who joined to Expeditionary Forces p. 39: William A. Ackeroyd [i.e. Akeroyd], John K. Adey, Charles H. Allchin, Jack Anderson, William J. Anderson, Harry S. Angel[l], Denis A. Banks, Frederick W. Bastian, Leslie P. F. Beckmann, William Beirne, William J. Benwell, Frederick M. Billiet, William L. Brewster, Richard W. Canny, Ernest [i.e. Earnest?] E. Clark, R. C. Connell, Leslie G. Cook, Daniel Courtney, William Crawford, John C. Davis, Alexander L. Dawson, John F. Deacon, Robert D. Desmond, Michael J. Dowling, John F. Dromgoole, Thomas Egan, Ralph J. Emmett, James M. Fogarty, James P. Fogarty, Thomas E. Foley, Robert G. Ford, James Foster, Thomas Geddes, Robert S. Gregor, George P. Grendon, George Harris, Thomas C. Hildebrand, John Hingeley, Eric G. Hogarth, William A. Horsfield, Leonard R. Jerram, John H. Jones, Henry Kelly, Albert E. Kennard, James Kilmartin, William P. Laidler, Herbert W. Lansdell, George E. Latimer, Horace H. Lee, Edward N. Lowry, William H. Lynch, William R. McCartney, Thomas F. McCrickard, Ernest E. McDuff, George McKenzie, Hugh McKinnon, Archibald C. Macmillan, Augustus T. M. Mahony, Francis C. Mallon, George Maloney, Henry J. Martin, Harry Mason, James A. Mitchell, Thomas Myers, William B. Nicholas, Thomas J. Northill, John P. Parsons, Augustus J. V. Peverill, William J. Phillips, Frank Prowse, Joseph Rhodes, Harry Richards, Ethel T. Richardson, Charles R. Roper, Richard J. Semmens, Dr Patrick Shaw, Henry St. J. Skinner, Ezekiel J. Smiley, Joseph Stapleton, Percival J. Stephens, Charles L. M. Stewart, Frederick W. Stewart, Henry G. Tait, Percy Tibbles, Frederick V. Trickey, Alfred J. J. Turner, Jane F. Tyers, William I. Usher, David A. Wallace, Thomas Walsh, Richard F. J. Warren, Richard W. White, J. M. Whyte, Harold J. Wicks, Reginald A. Wicks and William S. Young
Officers performing military duties in Victoria p. 39: Dr Robert S. Callander, Dr Clarence G. Godfrey, Dr W. Ernest Jones, Dr Henry Rogerson and Dr John Steell
Physical Description: 39p. ; 33cm.