Hospitals for the insane : report of the Inspector-General of the Insane for the year ended 31st December 1919

Corporate Author: Victoria. Lunacy Dept.
Other Authors: Gamble, Morris Frederick Horsley, 1866-1931, Hollow, Joseph Thomas, 1878-1942, Jones, William Ernest, 1867-1957, Lind, William Alexander Teas, 1881-1928, Lynch, Herbert Seaton, b. 1861, Victoria. Chief Secretary's Dept.
Published: Melbourne : Albert J. Mullett, Government Printer, 1921
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1921, no. 2
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament pursuant to Act 6 Geo. V. No. 2687, Section 19"
Report "To the Honorable the Chief Secretary"
"W. Ernest Jones, Inspector-General of the Insane"
Includes reports on the hospitals for the insane at Yarra Bend, Kew (Dr Gamble), Ararat, Beechworth, Sunbury, Ballarat, Royal Park and Mont Park, the Children's Cottages Kew, the Receiving House Ballarat, the Receiving House Royal Park and the Military Mental Ward No. 16 A. G. H. at Mont Park (Dr Hollow)
Includes report on the cost of maintenance for the Dept. from H. Seaton Lynch (chief clerk/accountant) and a report from W. A. T. Lind (Royal Park pathological laboratory) on the pathological work of the Dept. during the year
Other people mentioned: Dr W. H. Barker (resigned as medical superintendent Ballarat), W. Douglas (attendant Royal Park shot by an inmate) and Dr Godfrey (resigned as medical supt. Royal Park to become Government Medical Officer) p. 20, Miss Strachan, Rev. J. G. Baillie & Dr Mabel Baillie (St Helens Licensed House) and Mrs Stackhouse (ex charge nurse Hospital for the Insane Ballarat) who took over Glen Holme from former licensee Mrs Harcourt p. 24
Physical Description: 31p. ; 33cm.