Progress report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways on the questions of the St. Kilda to Brighton electric tramway and conversion of St. Kilda railway to electric traction : together with appendices and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Standing Committee on Railways
Other Authors: Abbott, Joseph Henry, 1830-1904, Craven, Albert William, 1855-1913, Graham, George, 1838-1922, Grose, Walter Bolitho, 1863?-1940, McBride, Peter, Sir, 1867-1923, Melville, Donald, 1829?-1919, Morey, Edward, 1832-1907, Smith, Thomas, 1846-1925, Stone, William, 1858-1949, Tait, Thomas James, Sir, 1864-1940, Warde, Edward Coughlan, c. 1862-1925
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1903
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1903, Second Session Railways Standing Committee report no. 1
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed, 22nd September, 1903"
Committee: A. W. Craven (Chairman), J. H. Abbott, G. Graham, W. B. Grose, P. McBride, D. Melville, E. Morey, T. Smith and E. C. Warde
Witnesses: William Henry Allard (mayor Brighton), Orlando William Brain (electrical engineeer NSW Railways Dept.), John Narbeth Browne (town clerk St. Kilda), Matthew Byrne (Elwood), John Montgomery Coane (Brighton Council engineeer), George Robert Cowdery (tramway engineer NSW Railways Dept.), William Davidson (inspector-general Public Works Dept.), Benjamin Deakin (manager British Insulated and Helsby Cables Co./manager Electrical Supply Company operating Bendigo and Ballarat electric tramways), William B. Downe (St. Kilda Council engineer), Harry McLeod Duigan (Elwood), William Hayball (Brighton), William Alfred Holmes (telegraph supt. Vic. Railways), Sigismund Jacoby (councillor St. Kilda), John Kneeshaw (supt. of tramways Sydney), William John Lobb (North Brighton), William Maloney MLA, Henry Noyes (Westinghouse Electrical and Manufacturing Co.), Edward O'Donnell (mayor St. Kilda), John Henry Pittard (councillor St. Kilda), Joseph Martin Reed (surveyor-general Lands Dept.), James Smibert (North Brighton), William Stone (electrical engineer Vic. Railways), Thomas James Tait (chairman Vic. Railways Commissioners), William Thwaites (engineer-in-chief Melb. and Metropolitan Board of Works, designer Elwood Canal) and William Henry Walker (North Brighton)
Includes appendices by W. Stone and Thos. Tait
Physical Description: xxvii, 72p. ; 34cm.