Report from the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Railways on the question of direct railway communication with the northern suburbs : together with the minutes of evidence and appendices

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Standing Committee on Railways
Other Authors: Cameron, Ewen Hugh, 1831-1915, Buchanan, James, 1827-1914, Burton, John Balfour, 1842-1918, Craven, Albert William, 1855-1913, Harris, Albert, 1842?-1910, Melville, Donald, 1829?-1919, Morey, Edward, 1832-1907, Trenwith, William Arthur, 1846-1925, White, John Samuel, 1837-1926
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1896
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1896, Railways Standing Committee report no. 4
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed, 23rd December, 1896"
Committee: Ewen Hugh Cameron (Chairman), James Buchanan, John Balfour Burton, Albert William Craven, Albert Harris, Donald Melville, Edward Morey, William Arthur Trenwith and John Samuel White.
Witnesses: John Baragwanath (house/land agent South Melbourne), Robert Barr (journalist Fitzroy) Isaac Barrow (produce salesman Melbourne & Preston), Edwin Bastings (estate agent Northcote), David Bennet (mechanical engineer Richmond), William R. Bennetts (iron/hardware merchant Fitzroy), William James Brewer (timber merchant Clifton Hill), Francis Boardman Clapp (managing director Melbourne Tramway & Omnibus Co.), Alfred Clayton (city surveyor/town clerk Richmond), John Clayton (town clerk Melbourne), William Cody (mayor Collingwood), Charles M. Davies (draper/outfitter Fitzroy), Dennis R. Dredge (Shire sec. Preston), William Francis Fitzpatrick (traffic manager Vic. Railways), George William Freeman (councillor Richmond), John Gahan (estate agent Abbotsford), James Grigg (auctioneer Fitzroy), Talbot Hamilton (sec. Melbourne Tramways Trust), Charles James Jago (councillor Richmond), John Shanks Jenkins (councillor City of Richmond), William Charles Kernot (engineering Professor Melbourne University), George Laity (councillor Richmond), John Lang (house/land agent Collingwood), Thomas Latham (secretary Ivanhoe), Holland Loxton (town clerk Kew), Bartholomew McCormick (pres. Shire of Epping/farmer) John McGregor (civil engineer Caulfield), Thomas H. McLean (tanner/leather merchant Northcote), John McLellan (rep. Foy & Gibson Collingwood), John McMahon (outfitter Fitzroy), John Mathieson (Commissioner of Vic. Railways) Patrick Walter Millane (surveyor Lands Dept.), John Monash (civil engineer), T. B. Muntz (civil engineer), Patrick W. J. Murphy (farmer/orchardist Arthur's Creek), William Hall Owen (mayor South Melbourne), William Patterson (provision merchant/bacon curer Preston), William Pearl (shopkeeper Fitzroy), John Pigdon (alderman City of Melbourne), Percy Rendle (manager H. Ackman & Co. Smith St. Fitzroy), Alexander Renfrew (furniture warehouseman Fitzroy), Francis Rennick (engineer-in-chief Vic. Railways), James Ryan (sec. Whittlesea & Epping Shire Councils), Sir Arthur Snowden (councillor City of Melbourne), Stephen Somerville (lithographic printer Clifton Hill), John Stedeford (liquidator Metropolitan Bank), William George Swift (town clerk Northcote), Walter Thomas (accountant/farmer), John G. Thompson (grocer Fitzroy/Northcote), William H. Waddell (accountant Fairfield), Arthur Wills (mayor Kew) and Caleb Yeomans (sec. County of Bourke Building Society Northcote)
BOUND IN 1896 VOLUME 2A p. 329-534
Physical Description: 206p. ; 33cm.