Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Board comprised: Ephraim Zox (Chairman), James Balfour, William Henry Embling, J. Hume Cook and William Maloney.
Report was signed subject to dissent by W. Maloney
Witnesses examined: James V. McCreery (inspector of asylums/supt. Kew Asylum), William L. Watkins (medical supt. Yarra Bend Asylum), James Evans (inspector-general of Prisons), Robert J. Burrowes (police magistrate), Rev. James Wolfenden, Dr. Andrew Shields (govt. medical officer), Francis J. Sincock (solicitor), James W. Hunt (chairman Victorian Alliance), Charles Henry Molloy (medical supt. Melbourne Hospital), Michael James Cody (governor Melbourne Gaol), Joseph A. Panton (metropolitan police magistrate), Frederick W. Bull (governor Pentridge Penal Establishment), John Francis Deegan (pres. Licensed Victuallers' Assoc. of Victoria), Herbert Henry Booth (commandant Salvation Army), Martin Hood (rep. Melbourne Benevolent Asylum), Emily Harcourt (prop. Inebriate Retreat Cheltenham), James Buchanan (ex-MLC), Daniel O'Reilly (chaplain to the Little Sisters of the Poor), Hickman Molesworth (chairman Metropolitan Licensing Bench), Archibald W. Smart (sr. landing surveyor Customs Dept.), Daniel Ferguson (chief inspector of Distilleries), Rev. Thos. Tait (Presbyterian Church Temperance Committee), Rev. Alexander R. Edgar (Wesleyan), Thomas Wardley (police constable) and Samuel J. Hallett (police constable)
Appendix A - C: letters to W. A. Robinson (sec. Habitual Drunkards Board) from John A. Christopherson, M. Callanan and John Stevens Smith (prop. Melbourne Seed Warehouse) concerning the suitability of French Island as an industrial colony for inebriates
Physical Description: 36p. ; 32cm.

Similar Items