Minutes of evidence and appendix /

Corporate Author: Victoria. Royal Commission on the Butter Industry
Other Authors: Morrison, George Cowie, 1857-1937, Graham, George, 1838-1922, Turner, Henry Gyles, 1831-1920
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1905
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1905, no. 10A
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command"
Commission: George Cowie Morrison (Chairman), George Graham and Henry Gyles Turner.
Witnesses: Charles Henry Alexander (Country Butter Co.), David Anderson (Orient Co.), John Wilson Anderson (Tower Hill Park Co.), Reginald Ivon Argyle (Kyneton Factory/pres. Dairymen's Assoc.), William Atkinson (butter & general broker), Isaac Barrow (produce agent), William Bateman (author), William George Boyle (ex Fresh Food and F.S. Co.), Charles Alfred Bramwell (supervisor Mullaly & Byrne), Dr. Alfred Austin Brown (inspector of Foods for Export) , Arthur George Butler Byrchall (Country Butter Co.), James Byrne (Mullaly & Byrne), Patrick Joseph Carroll (government dairy supervisor), Charles John Clark (sec. Harbor Trust), John Clayton (town clerk City of Melbourne), Patrick Coghlan (Colac Dairy Co.), Francis Leopold Crane (Mullaly & Byrne), Alexander Crawford (acting director Agriculture W.A.), Robert Crowe (govt. dairy expert), Alfred Herbert Davies (sec. Grassmere & Warrnambool Butter Companies), Frederick Claude Houghton Dean (ex Victoria Creamery Co.), Edward Richard William Denham (produce merchant Sydney), John Dougall (Wood Dunn & Co.), Lancelot G. Driffield (accountant), Edmund [i.e. Edmond] George Duffus (acting sec. Dept. Agriculture), William Dunkerley (ex Victoria Creamery Co.), James Dunn (Wood Dunn & Co.), William Durbridge (Cobden Factory), William Eades (New Zealand Loan & M. A. Co.), Aage Esmann (Anglo-Continental Produce Co.), Robert Joseph Fairbairn (ex Farmers' & Settlers' Co-op Society Sydney), Michael Stephen Foley (Foley Bros. Sydney), Robert George Gordon (architect), Charles Williams Gray (butter export agent), George Hall (Wood Dunn & Co.), John Halliday (engineer Harbor Trust), John Edward Handbury (Vic. Butter Factories Co-op Co.), Bendix Hansen (butter manufacturer/merchant), James Harris (acting sec. Board of Health), George H. Hope (J. Bartram & Son), Dr. Frederick Howell (chemist Agriculture Dept.), Silas Harding Howell (sec. Vic. Butter Factories Co-op Co.), George Jones (sec. Vic. Storekeepers' & Traders' Assoc.), Andrew Kell (sec. Tower Hill Park & Yambuk Factories), Albert Key (Registrar-General's Dept.), Robert Lennox (engineer Corporation Freezing Works), Thomas Lockwood (United Insurance Co.), George Lyell (Cherry & Sons), James Nash Marshall (Orient Co.), David Martin (sec. for Public Works), Elisha Meadows (ex H. Trengrouse & Co.), John Henry Mullaly (accountant Agriculture Dept.), Roderick Murchison (Bank of N.S.W.), William McConnell (Warrnambool C. & B. Factory), George McKenzie (Framlingham Butter Factory), James McLean (Country Butter Co.), James McLennan (Registrar-General's Dept.), James Parker McMeekin (produce agent), Angus McNaughton (sec. Dairymen's Assoc.), James Patrick McParland (sec. Framlingham Butter Factory), William E. Napthine (director Framlingham Butter Co.), Frederick Neil (Wood & Co.), Gideon Nicol (director Farnham & Garvoc Factories), Frederick W. Noble (Bartram & Son), John Alexnder Norris (Govt. Actuary's Office), Dr. William Perrin Norris (Vic. Board of Health), Patrick O'Loghlin (storeman Bartram & Son), James Paton (manager J. Bartram & Son), Jorgen Pedersen (importer of dairy machinery), Eleazor Pyke (accountant), Arthur Hamilton Renwick (ex Farnham Butter Factory), Frederick George Richardson (auditor), William Robertson (auditor), Alexander Scarlett (grain salesman), Alexander Simpson (captain of the steamer Moravian), Charles George Sinclair (Berry Cenral Factory N.S.W.), James McInnes Sinclair (late Supt. Exports London), Sidney Charles Stubbs (J. J. Lonsdale & Co.), Alexander Sturrock Jr. (butter box manufacturer), J. W. Taverner (Agent-General for Victoria), D. M. Taylor (Fresh Food & F.S. Co.), John Thornton (chairman Cobden Factory), N. H. Throsby (Berrima District F. & D. Co.), Edward Trelawny (Australian Manager P. & O.), William Henry Vagg (Australian Producers & Traders Ltd.), Reginald Varley (manager pasteurised milk dairy), S. Williamson Wallace (director of Agriculture), Edmund John Walsh (Framlingham Butter Co.), D. F. Watson (exporter), John Waugh (butter expert), John Stroyan Weatherhead (Camperdown Factory), William Telford Webb (ex MD Fresh Food & F. S. Co.), James Webster (Wood Dunn & Co.), William Payne West (Shepparton Butter Factory), Frederick White (Melbourbne agent P & O. Co.), James Wilson (govt. cool stores), James Wood (Wood Dunn & Co.) and Arthur John Wyett (Yarram Butter Factory).
Witnesses examined in Sydney: George Bradley (detective N.S.W.), Matthew Arthur Cooney (law clerk), Ernest Francis East (Argyle Co-operative Dairy Co.), Robert J. Fairbairn (ex Farmers' and Settlers' Co-operative Co.), Michael Stephen Foley (Foley Bros. Ltd.), Alexander Hanlon (chairman Woodhill Factory), Charles E. D. Meares (Coastal Farmers' Co-operative Society), John James Moffitt (Barrengarry Dairy Co.), Sir William McMillan (chairman Farmers' and Settlers' Co-operative Co.), Michael A. O'Callaghan (dairy expert), Edwin Richards (grocer), Frederick G. Roberts (Cobargo District Co-op. Co.), John Royle (Manchester Co-operative Co.), Charles G. Sinclair (ex Berry Central Factory), John Underhill (sec. Bega Factory) and Stephen E. Vidler (sec. Crookwell Factory).
Physical Description: vii, 1119p. ; 32cm.