Royal Commission on the University of Melbourne : minutes of evidence on administration, teaching work, and government of the University of Melbourne

Corporate Author: Victoria. Royal Commission on the University of Melbourne
Other Authors: Wrixon, Henry John, Sir, 1839-1915, Fink, Theodore, 1855-1942, Black, Steuart Gladstone, 1862-1940, Smith, Edwin Evan, 1870-1945, McIntyre, John, Sir, 1832-1904, Boyd, James Arthur, 1867-1941, Mackinnon, Donald, 1859-1932, Warde, Edward Coughlan, c. 1862-1925
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1903
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1903, Second Session no. 20
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Presented to both Houses of Parliament by His Excellency's command "
Commission comprised: Theodore Fink (President), Steuart G. Black, E. E. Smith, John McIntyre, James A. Boyd, Donald Mackinnon and E. C. Warde.
Witnesses examined: Thomas a'Beckett (University Council), George Rothwell Adam (Faculty of Medicine), Professor H. B. Allen, J. W. Barrett (University Council), J. C. Bartlett (Head Teachers' Assoc.), W.F. Beard (Church of England Grammar School), Fred. Dougan Bird (surgery lecturer), G. E. Blanch (headmaster C.E.G.S.), W. L. Bowditch (tutor), W. R. Boyd ((Melbourne Hospital), Thomas Brentnall (pres. Institute of Accountants), T. F. Bride (University Council), T. M. Burke (Board of Directors Aust. Natives' Assoc.), F.A. Campbell (director Working Men's College), J. M. Campbell (ex-pres. Law Institute), G.H. Carter (Head Teachers' Assoc.), F. I. Maurice Carton (French lecturer), J. B. Castieau (public servant), Thomas Cherry (bacteriologist Dept. Agriculture), James Clezy (tutor), J. M. Coane (Surveyors' Board), Harold E. Cohen (Law Students' Society), Montague Cohen (vice pres. Law Institute), C. H. Davis (sec. Bankers' Institute), A. L. H. Dawson (ex-lecturer Otago University), C. A. D'Ebro (vice pres. Royal Vic. Institute of Architects), Walter von Dechend (German lecturer), H. G. De Gruchy (Law Students' Society), T. P. Derham (Council of Law Institute), A. T. Dwyer (sec. Accountants' & Clerks' Assoc.), Professor J. S. Elkington, T. W. Fowler (surveying lecturer/engineering demonstrator), M. P. Fox (Sec. University Extension Board), Danvers Godden (sec. Federal Institute of Accountants), F. R. Godfery (pres. Melbourne Hospital Committee), W. Orr Gray (supt. Melbourne Dental Hospital), Professor J. W. Gregory, John Grice (University Council), W. C. Guest (sec. Committee of Counsel), A. M. Henderson (architecture lecturer), H. B. Higgins (University Council), Mr Justice H. E. A. Hodges, Thomas Hogg (Chamber of Maufactures), F. J. Howell (chemist), John Iliffe (dentist), Isaac Jacobs (Chamber of Manufactures), James Jamieson (Faculty of Medicine), H. G. Joseph (Law Students' Society), Ernest Joske (registrar Dental Board), Patrick Keating (rector Xavier College), F. A. Kernot (dentist), Professor W. C. Kernot, Professor Henry Laurie, A. Leeper (warden Trinity College), W. T. Lewis (Head Teachers' Assoc.), L. H. Lindon (headmaster Geelong Grammar), John Little (sec. Royal Vic. Institute of Architects), F. Loprieno (Accountants' & Clerks' Assoc.), F. M. Ludbrook (dentist), Professor T. R. Lyle, Sir John Madden (Chancellor), Denis Manning (prefect of studies St. Patrick's College), Professor C. J. Martin, Professor D. O. Masson, ALfred Merrill (dentist), A. H. Merrin (mining lecturer), J. H. Michell (maths lecturer), William Moore (surgeon Melbourne Hospital), Professor W. Harrison Moore, ALexander Morrison (headmaster Scotch College), Norman Morrison (headmaster Geelong College), W. L. Mullen (Dental Board), J. H. McFarland (master Ormond College), T. P. McInerney (warden of the Senate), Samuel G. McLaren (principal Presbyterian Ladies' College), Professor E. J. Nanson, B. P. O'Dowd (chairman National University Union), Henry O'Hara (surgeon Alfred Hospital), S. G. Pirani (Council of Law Institute), A. L. Prendergast & W. Raper (both reps.Society of Accountants and Auditors), J. M. Reed (surveyor-general), Arthur Robinson (sec. Law Institute), L. C. S. Robinson (barrister), Henry Rosales (Chamber of Mines), John Sawers (pres. Chamber of Commerce), George Shanahan (ex-supt. Dental College & Hospital), B. A. Smith (lecturer hydraulic & sanitary engineering), John Smyth (principal Training College), Professor W. Baldwin Spencer, J. W. Springthorpe (lecturer Medial School), R. A. Stirling (surgeon Melbourne Hospital), Sydney Stott (principal Business College), E. H. Sugden (University Council), John Sutherland (actuary), G. A. Syme (Faculty of Medicine), Frank Tate (director of Education), William Thorn (sec. Surveyor's Board), William Thwaites (University Council), H. G. Troup (sec. Ballarat District Law Institute), Professor T. G. Tucker, S. W. Wallace (director of Agriculture), T. a'B. Weigall (Board of Examiners for Barristers & Solicitors), A. S. A. Whelen (Accountants' and Clerks' Assoc.), John Williams (University Council), E. L Wilson (Federal Institute of Accountants) and Sir Henry J. Rixon (vice-chancellor)
Physical Description: iv, 371p. ; 34cm.