Mornington election : report from The Committee of Elections and Qualifications upon the petition of Louis Lawrence Smith against the return of Alfred Downward for the electoral district of Mornington : together with the proceedings of the Committee and minutes of evidence

Corporate Author: Victoria. Parliament. Legislative Assembly. Committee of Elections and Qualifications
Other Authors: Beazley, William David, 1854-1912, Burton, John Balfour, 1842-1918, Cameron, Ewen Hugh, 1831-1915, Gaunson, David, 1846-1909, Harris, Albert, 1842?-1910, Moule, William Henry, 1858-1939, Reid, Robert Dyce, 1829-1900, Smith, Robert Murray, 1831-1921, Wallace, John Alston, 1828-1901
Published: Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, 1895
Parliamentary Paper Number: Parliamentary paper (Victoria. Parliament) ; 1894-95, no. D 2
Online Access:
Tags: Add Tag
Cover Image
Saved in:
Item Description: "Ordered by the Legislative Assembly to be printed 8th January 1895"
Committee comprised: William David Beazley (Chairman), John Balfour Burton, Ewen Hugh Cameron, Albert Harris, William Henry Moule, Robert Dyce Reid and Robert Murray Smith
David Gaunson appeared as Counsel and John Wallace as Agent for Louis Lawrence Smith
Alfred Downard acted on his own behalf
Witnesses examined: William Valentine Robinson (Clerk Legislative Assembly), William Jolliffe (deputy electoral registrar Korumburra), Adam Ritchie (farmer Garfield), Joseph William Hazledine (electoral registrar Dromana, Flinders & Tootgarook Divisions), Frederick Henry Reynaud Cook (Shire Secretary Poowong & Jeetho), Henry Martyn Lind (chief electoral insptector Chief Secretary's Dept.), John Peaty (labourer Dromana), Joseph Martin Reed (assistant surveyor Lands Dept.), Neil McQueen (shire engineer Dromana), Henry Bucher, Hugo Seideberg (voter Bunyip), Charles John Ortguist (voter Gembrook), James Charles Lyons (voter Bunyip), Titus Griffiths (Korumburra), Henry Aiken (railway employé Clyde), Robert Graham (railway employé Korumburra), Charles Gavan Duffy (cerk-assistant Legislative Assembly), Thomas Gomm (fisherman Rosebud), John Calvin Griffith (farmer Dromana/councillor Flinders and Kangerong), Alfred Downward (MLA for Mornington), Thomas Stacey (publican Bunyip), Joseph Watson (labourer Bunyip), William Bank Smith (settler Bunyip), Matthew John Purcell (clerk Registrar of Titles Office) and Johan Glismann (farmer Beaconsfield).
Physical Description: xxi, 42p. ; 34cm.