Re-Member (Former Members)

Back to search

Geoffrey Phillip Connard, AM

Geoffrey Phillip Connard

13 October 1925 (Cheltenham, Victoria)
27 January 2013
Thomas, manager, and Elsie Thorp
29 June 1957 Judith Wills, artist; 2s. 1d.
Church of England
Mordialloc State and High Schools, Melbourne Grammar School, Vic. College of Pharmacy
PhC 1947
Member Pharmaceutical Society
Pharmaceutical chemist 1947- ; honorary secretary Pharmacy Guild of Aust. District No.1 1965-81. Board Member 1974, Hon. Treasurer to 1984 and Chairman 1985-88 of After Care Hospital. Board Member and Vice Chairman 1994-96, St George's Hospital and Inner Eastern Geriatric Centre. Board Member 1982-96, Chairman 1987-90, Fairfield Hospital. Founding Chairman 1987-90 and Board Member since 1987, MacFarlane Burnet Centre for Medical Research. Board Member since 1994, Chairman 1997-2000, International Diabetes Institute. Various roles with Victorian Hospitals Association since 1970s. Board Member and Treasurer since 2000, Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute. Delegate to Aust. Hospital Assoc. National Conferences 1975-95. Member, Lions Club of Mordialloc since 1964. Executive Member, Australia Day Council since 1976. Vice President, Australia Free China Association since 1980. Member, Brighton Historical Society since 1982. Knight of St John of Jerusalem-Knights Hospitaller. Board Member, PT Investments Aust. P/L, PT Sales Ltd., Western Fabricators P/L. Chairman, Independent Review Panel on Supported Residential Services 1998-2000. Awarded Distinguished Service Medal, Pharmacy Guild of Australia 1996 and Order of Australia, AM 2001.;
Liberal Party
Party Note
Joined 1944, founding member Young Liberals and state country v-president 1950-1952, treasurer Mordialloc branch 30 years, chairman Mentone and Higinbotham electorate committees, v-chairman Isaacs electorate committee. Member of various Liberal Party committees.
3rd Apr 1982
29th Mar 1996

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.

Inaugural Speech
21 September 1982, Liberal, Council, Higinbotham
Other seats contested
Chelsea 1979
Secretary, Parliamentary Liberal Party 1988-96. Led Parliamentary delegations to Peoples Republic of China 1987, 92, 93, USSR/Lithuania/Estonia/ Latvia 1993, Uzbekistan/Kazakhstan/Kirghistan 1995, Pakistan 1995 and 1997, Zimbabwe/Botswana/Swaziland 1996. Member, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association since 1982 and delegate to international conferences, elected to represent Australia to International Executive Cttee 1993-96. International Observer to USA National Democrat Conventions 1992, 1996, 2000. Economic and Budget Review committee 1983-1988. Library committee 1985-1996. Social Development committee 1988-1992. Parliament of Victoria committee 1991-1992. Economic Development committee 1992-1996.
Who's Who in Australia 1983; Victorian Parliamentary Handbook; Moorabbin Standard News 19 Aug 1981; personal information
Initial Data Source
Browne, G, 'Biographical Register of the Victorian Parliament 1900-84', 1985
Last Update
Array (last date the record was checked and updated)