Committees History

In 1895 the concept of on going committees was introduced with the appointment of a Public Accounts Committee.

A Statute Law Revision Committee emerged in 1916 and since the early 1950s there has been steady activity by the committees already mentioned and also by later additions. These included a Subordinate Legislation Committee and also those appointed over the years to consider specific subjects such as road safety, land drainage, conservation of energy resources, chiropractors and osteopaths, the meat industry and company take-overs.

In 1982 the committee system was revised and a new Joint Investigatory committee system was established.

In 1992, nine new Joint Investigatory Committees were established in place of the previous five with only one, the Public Bodies Review Committee, being retained with the same powers and functions. Since then, the committee system in Victoria has comprised the Joint Investigatory Committees, joint select committees of both Houses, select committees of either House and other committees which can be categorised as "domestic or administrative committees". In the case of select committees, reference must always first be made to the terms of the resolution appointing them and the Standing Orders of either House which applies to their operation and powers.

In 1996 the Public Bodies Review Committee was abolished and the Federal-State Relations Committee created as a Joint Investigatory Committee. The Federal-State Relations Committee was discontinued in the 54th Parliament.

In the 56th Parliament, all of the existing Joint Investigatory Committees were re-appointed though there were name changes to two of these: Economic Development Committee became the Economic Development and Infrastructure Committee; and the Rural and Regional Services and Development Committee became the Rural and Regional Committee.