Re-Member (Former Members)

Back to search

Harley Rivers Dickinson

Harley Rivers Dickinson

20 October 1938 (Richmond, Victoria)
04 April 2008
Rivers Arthur, solicitor, and Dolina Marion Arbuckle
28 Nov 1964 Nicola Charlotte Nina Payne; 3s. 1d.
Public servant and Anglican registrar AAIM, KCSJ
Church of England
Croydon State School, Geelong College, graduate Aust. School of Pacific Administration
Pioneer exploration of Mt Fubulan, Papua-New Guinea June 1958; Officer Department of the Administrator Papua-New Guinea 1958-1970; patrol officer, district officer and officer Papua-New Guinea Constabulary, Office of Programming and Co-ordination 1970-1971; officer OK Tedi and Bougainville copper projects, Department of Law 1971-1976; resident magistrate, visiting justice and coroner Boroko, Popondetta and Mendi district courts, district supervising magistrate Southern Highlands Province, chairman Highland District Land Disputes committee; executive officer, assistant secretary Victorian Chamber of Manufactures 1976-1980; owner Bannockburn farm; secretary Bannockburn Victorian Farmers and Graziers Association; member Geelong Winegrowers Association; registrar Church of England Melbourne diocese, secretary to Archbishop in council and annual synod and diocesan management committees, trustee Church of England Trusts Corporation 1980-1981; founding member Point Leo Surf Life Saving Club; restored and donated Cobb and Company coach to Beechworth Carriage Museum; in youth athlete and oarsman Albert Bell and Corio Rowing Clubs. Olympic torch bearer Melbourne 1956 and Sydney 2000. Artist. Second cousin of J. V. C. Guest (q.v.) and nephew by marriage of K. Dodgshun (q.v.).;Rabaul Local Government Council admin adviser 1967-1968
Liberal Party
Party Note
President Barrabool branch. Resigned from Liberal Party 20 May 1992. Liberal Party Policy Assembly. Vice President, Liberal Speakers Group 1980.
South Barwon
3rd Apr 1982
2nd Oct 1992

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.

Inaugural Speech
25 May 1982, Liberal, Assembly, South Barwon
Other seats contested
Lalor (fed.) 1977. South Barwon (LA) as Independent 1992.
Salinity Committee 1984-1985. House Committee 1985-1992. Library Committee 1988-1992. Parliamentary Representative, Deakin University Council.
Windows of New Guinea 1958-1976: 40 paintings and early photos with narrative
Condolence speeches - Legislative Assembly
Click to view
Who's Who in Australia 1980-1983; Victorian Parliamentary Handbook; personal information
Initial Data Source
Browne, G, 'Biographical Register of the Victorian Parliament 1900-84', 1985
Last Update
Array (last date the record was checked and updated)