Students have their say in 2023 Parliament Prize

25 August 2023 Watch the winning entries

The winning entries for the 2023 Parliament Prize have been announced today on parliament’s social media channels.

Students from Elsternwick Primary School, Warringa Park School and Hoppers Crossing Secondary College have taken out the top prizes in this year’s competition, awarded by the Victorian parliament to students who have recorded a 90-second response to the question, ‘What would you say to parliament if you were an MP?’

Taj de Kretser from Elsternwick Primary School was awarded first place in the Grades 5 and 6 category for her entry that highlighted the benefits of restoring Elster Creek.

Zach Bugeja, Tyler Guilfoyle, Loki McAdam from Warringa Park School won the Years 7 to 9 category with their statement on making our communities accessible for everyone, and Syazwani Saifudin from Hoppers Crossing Secondary College took out the top prize in the Years 10 to 12 category with with a call for better bus transport in Victoria.

The Alicia Katz award (named after the first woman to run for the Parliament of Victoria) was won by Lalor East Primary School. This award recognises a school that has made an inspiring contribution to the Parliament Prize through their strong commitment to a diverse range of issues.

All up the Parliament Prize attracted 1018 entries from over 200 schools across the state. Students addressed topics, ranging from the cost of living to using artificial intelligence, safer roads and pedestrian crossings and education. The most popular themes for this year’s entries were around health, mental health and wellbeing (202 entries), followed by education (151) and entries relating to human rights, anti-racism and anti-discrimination (110).

The judging panel included three members of parliament, Chris Crewther, Ella George and Aiv Puglielli, as well as members of parliament’s education advisory panel and parliament staff.   

Cash prizes will be awarded to the winning entries and to each first-placed student’s school, to be used to promote civics and citizenship and law-related education.


The results

Watch the winning entries


Grades 5 and 6

1st place: Taj de Kretser
Elsternwick Primary School
‘Restoring Elster Creek’

2nd place: Jessica Thompson
Somers Primary School
‘Safety for healthcare workers’ 

3rd place: Lyra Nowell
St Brendan’s Catholic Primary School, Lakes Entrance
‘All abilities playground’ 

Years 7 to 9

1st place: Zach Bugeja, Tyler Guilfoyle, Loki McAdam
Warringa Park School
‘Making our communities accessible for everyone’ 

2nd place: Kate Dickenson
Templestowe College
‘Autism acceptance and awareness’

3rd place: Olivia Carroll
Kilbreda College
‘The intergenerational wellbeing scheme’

Years 10 to 12

1st place: Syazwani Saifudin
Hoppers Crossing Secondary College
‘Better buses' 

2nd place: Miranda Liu
Emmaus College
‘Soft plastic recycling’

3rd place: Jacob Osenaris
Ballarat Clarendon College
‘Harsh reality’

The Alicia Katz Award

Lalor East Primary School