Inquiry into the Use of Cannabis in Victoria

Hearings and Transcripts


Tuesday, 29 June 2021
via Zoom

Time Witness Transcript
9:00 am Victoria Police
Assistant Commissioner Glenn Weir
Drug portfolio holder

 pdfTranscript193.45 KB

pdfResponse to QON1.46 MB


Wednesday, 9 June 2021
via Zoom

Time Witness Transcript
7:00 pm European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction
Brendan Hughes
Principal Scientist on Drug Legislation, Support to Policy sector
pdfTranscript142.82 KB
7:45 pm Professor Tom Decorte
Director, Institute for Social Drug Research, University of Ghent
pdfTranscript148.17 KB 

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

via Zoom

Time Witness Transcript
9:00 am

Victorian Government

Department of Education and Training
Justin McDonnell
Executive Director, Student Wellbeing, Health and Engagement Division, School Education Programs and Support

Department of Health
Matthew Hercus
Executive Director, Mental Health and AOD System Operations and Commissioning, Mental Health Division

Department of Justice and Community Safety
Diab Harb
Executive Director
Justice System Reform

 pdfTranscript201.62 KB

pdfDepartment of Health response to QONs_1155.40 KB

pdfDepartment of Health response to QONs_2380.42 KB

 pdfDJCS response to QONs_1104.53 KB

pdfDJCS response to QONs_2108.38 KB

pdfDJCS response to QONs_398.02 KB


Wednesday, 19 May 2021
Room G6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Time Witness Transcript
10:00 am

Victoria Legal Aid
Dan Nicholson
Executive Director, Criminal Law Services

Sharon Keith
Managing Lawyer, Summary Crime

pdfTranscript146.97 KB

pdfResponse to questions on notice885.56 KB

10:45 am

Health and Community Services Union
Paul Healey
Victorian Secretary

Stephanie Thuesen
Area Organiser
pdfTranscript235.09 KB
11:45 am

ACT Panel

Alcohol Tobacco and Other Drugs Association ACT
Devin Bowles
Chief Executive Officer

ACT Legislative Assembly
Michael Pettersson MLA
pdfTranscript246.19 KB
1:45 pm National Drug Research Institute
Professor Simon Lenton
Director and Program Leader
pdfTranscript231.58 KB
2:30 pm Drug Free Australia
Gary Christian
Research Director

pdfTranscript224.04 KB

pdfPresentation16.01 MB

pdfSupplementary evidence1.39 MB

pdfSupplementary evidence15.84 MB

pdfSupplementary evidence17.68 MB

3:30 pm Springvale Monash Legal Service
Ashleigh Newnham
Manager, Strategic and Community Development

Korina Leoncio

pdfTranscript220.10 KB

pdfResponses to QONs107.46 KB

4:15 pm Dr Kate Seear
Associate Professor &
Principal Research Fellow, DruGS Research Program, Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society
Latrobe University
pdfTranscript220.46 KB 



Wednesday, 28 April 2021
Howard Whittaker Conference Room, George Kerferd Hotel, Beechworth VIC 3747

Time Witness Transcript
10:00 am Gateway Health
Leigh Rhode, Chief Executive Officer
Maryanne Donnellan, Program Manager AOD

pdfPresentation1.45 MB

pdfTranscript150.42 KB

10:45 am Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service
Kin Leong, Principal Managing Lawyer, Criminal Law Practice

pdfTranscript216.53 KB 
11:30 am The Centre for Continuing Education (Wangaratta)
Felicity Williams, Chief Executive Officer
Trent Jones, Learner Engagement Officer
Kerri Barnes, Project Manager, Finding Strength

pdfTranscript224.23 KB
12:15 pm Odyssey House Victoria
Andrew Hick, Manager, Circuit Breaker program
 pdfTranscript202.25 KB


Wednesday, 21 April 2021
via Zoom

Time Witness Transcript
10:00 am Turning Point and Monash Addiction Research Centre
Professor Dan Lubman AM
Executive Clinical Director, Turning Point,
Director, Monash Addiction Research Centre, Monash University

Dr Christine Grove
Senior Lecturer, Educational Psychology and Inclusive Education,
Monash University
pdfTranscript138.94 KB 
10:45 am Students for Sensible Drug Policy Australia (SSDP Aus)
Gulliver McLean
Research & Advocacy Officer

Julia Daly
Operations Manager

Jesse Colling
Victorian Campus Teams Manager

pdfTranscript225.47 KB

pdfPresentation720.10 KB

11:30 am Harm Reduction Victoria
Sione Crawford
Chief Executive Officer

Stephanie Tzanetis
DanceWize Program Director
Harm Reduction Victoria Management Team
pdfTranscript225.29 KB
1:15 pm Panel - NZ Witnesses
SHORE & Whariki Research Centre
Associate Professor Chris Wilkins
Leader, Drug Research Team

Dr Marta Rychert
Senior Researcher

New Zealand Drug Foundation
Sarah Helm
Executive Director

Stephen Blyth
Communications Manager

pdfTranscript255.91 KB

pdfPresentation766.91 KB

2:30 pm Australian Drug Law Reform Foundation
Dr Alex Wodak
pdfTranscript217.37 KB
3:30 pm Penington Institute
John Ryan
Chief Executive Officer

Dr Karen Gelb
Senior Research and Policy Officer
 pdfTranscript222.52 KB


Thursday, 25 March 2021
Meeting Rooms G.1 & G.2, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Time Witness Transcript
9.15 am Tamar Todd, 
Lecturer, Berkeley Law & Former Legal Director, Drug Policy Alliance
pdfTranscript154.60 KB
10.00 am Smart Approaches to Marijuana
Dr Kevin Sabet,

pdfTranscript237.76 KB

pdfPresentation4.75 MB

10.45 am Victorian Alcohol and Drug Association
Sam Biondo
Executive Director

David Taylor
Policy and Media

pdfTranscript239.17 KB

pdfResponse to QON1.52 MB

pdfResponse to QON1.44 MB


11.45 am Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists
(Victorian branch)

Dr Shalini Arunogiri
Chair, RANZCP Faculty of Addiction Psychiatry

pdfTranscript239.88 KB

pdfResponse to QON107.46 KB

pdfResponse to QON6.64 MB

pdfResponse to QON446.03 KB

pdfResponse to QON1.54 MB

pdfResponse to QON346.89 KB

1.30 pm Burnet Institute
Associate Professor Peter Higgs
Burnet Senior Fellow

Ashleigh Stewart
Research Assistant

pdfTranscript269.63 KB

pdfPresentation4.16 MB

2.30 pm Dalgarno Institute
Shane Varcoe
Executive Director, Operations

Eleni Arapoglou
pdfTranscript232.67 KB
3.15 pm Alcohol and Drug Foundation
Dr Erin Lalor
Chief Executive Officer

Jill Karena
State Manager, Victoria and Tasmania

Laura Bajurny
Information Officer

pdfTranscript235.89 KB

pdfResponse to QON1.70 MB

pdfResponse to QON3.86 MB

Last Updated on Friday, 16 July 2021