Inquiry into Anti-Vilification Protections

Hearings and Transcripts

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available. Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee.

Past Hearings:

Tuesday, 25 February 2020
Meeting room G.1, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Time Witness Transcript
10:30am Victorian Multicultural Commission
Vivienne Nguyen, Chair
Maria Dimopoulos, Deputy Chair
 pdfTranscript292.75 KB

Ethnic Communities' Council of Victoria
Eddie Micallef, Chair
Chris Christoforou, Executive Officer

 pdfTranscript201.21 KB

Jewish Community Council of Victoria
Jennifer Huppert, President

 pdfTranscript286.20 KB
1:30pm Synod of Victoria and Tasmania, Uniting Church in Australia
Mark Zirnsak, Senior Social Justice Advocate
 pdfTranscript173.32 KB
2:30pm Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne
Dr Nigel Zimmerman, Principal Advisor to the Archbishop
Penny Badwal, Community Engagement and Liaison Officer
 pdfTranscript166.48 KB
3:15pm Islamic Council of Victoria
Adel Salman, Vice President
 pdfTranscript190.35 KB


Wednesday, 11 March 2020
Meeting room G.1, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Time Witness Transcript
10:30am Liberty Victoria and St Kilda Legal Service's LGBTIQ Legal Service
Gemma Cafarella, Chair, Liberty Victoria
Jamie Gardiner OAM, Member, Liberty Victoria
Sam Elkin, Coordinator, LGBTIQ Legal Service, St Kilda Legal Service
 pdfTranscript353.34 KB
11:15am Institute of Public Affairs
Morgan Begg, Research Fellow
Dara Macdonald, Research Fellow
 pdfTranscript254.30 KB
12:45pm Australian Discrimination Law Experts Group
Professor Beth Gaze, University of Melbourne 
Liam Elphick, Adjunct Research Fellow, University of Western Australia Law School
 pdfTranscript195.23 KB
1:30pm Victorian Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby
Maxim Thomas, Co-convenor
Sean Mulcahy, Committee Member
 pdfTranscript264.70 KB

Human Rights Law Centre, GetUp!, Victorian Trades Hall Council and The Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
Monique Hurley, Senior Lawyer, Human Rights Law Centre
Ruth Barson, Joint Executive Director, Human Rights Law Centre
Renaire Druery, Acting Human Rights Director, GetUp!
Abiola Ajetomobi, Director of Social Innovation, Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

 pdfTranscript236.08 KB
3:15pm Law Institute of Victoria
Jacinta Lewin, Chair, Human Rights Committee
Bill Swannie, Member, Human Rights Committee
 pdfTranscript296.39 KB
4:00pm The Anti-Defamation Commission
Dr Dvir Abramovich, Chairman
 pdfTranscript202.41 KB


Thursday, 12 March 2020
Meeting room G.1, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Time Witness Transcript

Nicole Shackleton, PhD Candidate, La Trobe University
Dr Laura Griffin, Lecturer, La Trobe University; and
Danielle Walt,
Project Manager and Policy Consultant

 pdfTranscript308.97 KB
11:15am Online Hate Prevention Institute
Dr Andre Oboler, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director
Associate Professor David Wishart, Director
Mark Civitella, Chairman
Dr Nasya Bahfen, Director
 pdfTranscript250.97 KB
12:45pm Dr Holly Lawford-Smith, Senior Lecturer, University of Melbourne  pdfTranscript280.54 KB
1:30pm Gender Equity Victoria
Tanja Kovac, Chief Executive Officer
Jacinta Masters, Manager
 pdfTranscript185.74 KB
2:30pm Australian Christian Lobby
Jasmine Yuen, Acting Victorian Director
Dan Flynn, Chief Political Officer
 pdfTranscript165.52 KB
3:15pm Nicholas Butler  pdfTranscript266.14 KB


Wednesday, 27 May 2020
Meeting room G.6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via videoconference

Time Witness Transcript
 10.30am Equality Australia
Anna Brown, Chief Executive Officer
Ghassan Kassisieh, Legal Director
 pdfTranscript262.89 KB
 11.15am Thorne Harbour Health
Jonathan Meddings, Senior Policy Analyst
 pdfTranscript239.62 KB
 12.45pm Department of Premier and Cabinet, Fairer Victoria
Brigid Monagle, Deputy Secretary, Fairer Victoria
John Batho, Executive Director, Multicultural Affairs and Social Cohesion, Equality
 pdfTranscript259.23 KB
 1.30pm Australian Jewish Association
Dr David Adler, President
Ted Lapkin, Executive Director
 pdfTranscript241.48 KB
 2.30pm Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
Kristen Hilton, Commissioner
Emily Minter, Senior Legal Advisor
 pdfTranscript264.88 KB
 3.30pm Springvale Monash Legal Service
Ashleigh Newnham, Manager, Strategic and Community Development
Katia Lallo, Community Lawyer
 pdfTranscript292.30 KB


Thursday, 28 May 2020
Meeting room G.6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via videoconference

Time Witness Transcript
 10.30am Australian Muslim Women's Centre for Human Rights
Diana Sayed, Chief Executive Officer
M. Y., Young Women's Program Coordinator
 pdfTranscript673.09 KB
 11.15am  Allens Hub for Technology, Law and Innovation
Professor Lyria Bennett Moses, Director
Siddharth Narrain, PhD Candidate and Scientia Scholar at UNSW Law
 pdfTranscript291.16 KB
 12.45pm Yarriambiack Shire Council
Jessie Holmes, Chief Executive Officer
Gavin Blinman, Director, Community Development and Wellbeing
 pdfTranscript314.80 KB

Victorian Legal Aid
Rowan McRae, Executive Director, Civil Justice, Access and Equity
Melanie Schleiger, Program Manager, Equity Law Program

Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service
Rachel Gleeson, Solicitor, Civil and Human Rights Practice

Charmaine Clarke
Senior Practitioner, Aboriginal Family Violence Primary Prevention Innovation Project

 pdfTranscript316.34 KB
 2.30pm National Better Balance Futures
Murray Norman, Director
Surinder Jain, Director
Professor Suzanne Rutland, Member, Australian delegation to the International Holocaust Rememberance Alliance
Maxine Piekarski, Parent
 pdfTranscript316.79 KB
 3.15pm Centre for Multicultural Youth
Carmel Guerra, Director and Chief Executive Officer
Akeer Garang, Youth Volunteer
Shashwat Tripathi, Youth Volunteer
 pdfTranscript370.30 KB


Wednesday, 24 June 2020
Meeting room G.6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via videoconference

Tme Witness Transcript
10:30am Dr Bruce Baer Arnold
Assistant Professor, CELTS Fellow and Juris Doctor Program Director, Canberra Law School
 pdfTranscript190.66 KB

Union for Progressive Judaism
David Knoll, AM, Co-President
Brian Samuel, OAM, Co-President

 pdfTranscript206.86 KB
12:50pm Marsha Uppill
Co-founder and Director, Arranyinha
 pdfTranscript197.27 KB
1:40pm Professor Katharine Gelber
Head of School, School of Political Science and International Studies, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Queensland
 pdfTranscript210.40 KB

Australian Hate Crime Network
Professor Gail Mason, Co-Convenor
Julie Nathan, Co-Convenor

 pdfTranscript252.22 KB


Thursday, 25 June 2020
Meeting room G.6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via videoconference

Time Witness Transcript
10:30am Victoria Police
Assistant Commissioner Luke Cornelius
 pdfTranscript224.76 KB
11:20am Alastair Lawrie  pdfTranscript207.72 KB
12:50pm Executive Council of Australian Jewry
Peter Wertheim, co-Chief Executive Officer
Monique Meyer, Parent
 pdfTranscript235.68 KB
1:40pm Disability Discrimination Legal Service
Felix Walsh, Policy and Law Reform Officer
 pdfTranscript300.65 KB
2:40pm Reconciliation Victoria
Diana David, Chief Executive Officer
 pdfTranscript247.64 KB




Last Updated on Wednesday, 18 November 2020