Public Hearings

The Committee may invite people to a Public Hearing, workshop, briefing or other consultation, to make representations (give evidence) directly to the members of the Committee and to answer questions from the Committee. This allows the Committee to follow up points of interest and concern and often lets people who have made a submission amplify points and give additional information.

Members of the public with an interest in the Inquiry are welcome to attend the hearings as observers. During regional hearings the Committee may invite members of the public to make comments from the floor, should they so wish, at the end of the hearing.

Transcripts of evidence taken at hearings will be available on the Transcripts of Evidence page once each hearing is complete.

2008 program
Monday 27 October

(St Andrews Pl)

Hon Jacinta Allan MP
Minister for Regional and Rural Development

Mr Justin Hanney
Chief Executive and Deputy Secretary, Regional Development Victoria

Monday 17 November
11.00am - 4.00pm

Geelong National Wool Museum

G21 Geelong Region Alliance, representing
- Borough of Queenscliffe
- Colac Otway Shire Council
- City of Greater Geelong
- Surf Coast Shire Council
- Golden Plains Shire Council

City of Greater Geelong

Champions of the Bush Incorporated

Barwon Water Board

Avalon Airport

Public Transport Users Group - Geelong Branch

Committee for Geelong

Monday 18 November
9.30am - 3.00pm
Ballarat Ballarat Town Hall

City of Ballarat

Hepburn Shire Council

Ararat Rural City Council

Pyrenees Shire Council

Moorabool Shire Council

University of Ballarat

MaxiTRANS Industries Ltd

BEST Community Development

Committee for Ballarat

Commerce Ballarat

Tuesday 25 November
9.30am - 3.00pm
Morwell The Morwell Club

Latrobe City Council

South Gippsland Shire Council

Bass Coast Shire Council

Baw Baw Shire Council

Wellington Shire Council

East Gippsland Shire Council

Gippsland Water

Champions of the Bush Inc.

Monash University Gippsland Campus

Loy Yang Power

Australian Sustainable Industry Research Centre

Thursday 11 December
12.30pm to 5.30pm
Shepparton Greater Shepparton City Council

Greater Shepparton City Council

Moira Shire Council

Shire of Campaspe Council

Loddon Murray Community Alliance

Shouul of Land and Environment; University of Melbourne - Dookie

Northeast Area Consultative Committee

Shepparton Chanmber of Commerce and Industry Inc

National Council of Women of Victoria - Goulburn Valley Branch

Friday 12 December
9.30am to 3.30pm
Bendigo City of Greater Bendigo Town Hall

City of Greater Bendigo Council

Loddon Shire Council

Mount Alexander Shire Council

RMCG Consulting

Bendigo Business Council

Industrial Conveying Pty Ltd

Australian Industry Group

Coliban Water Board

Centre for Sustainable Regional Communities; Latrobe University - Bendigo Campus

2009 program
Wednesday 11 February
9.30am to 3.00pm
Horsham Capital Horsham
109 Firebrace Street, Horsham

North West Municipalities Association

West Wimmera Shire Council

Horsham Rural City Council

Hindmarsh Shire Council

Department of Sustainability and Environment

Country Fire Authority

Wimmera Development Association

Wimmera Catchment Management Authority

West Wimmera Health Service

Business Horsham

Thursday 12 February
9.00am to 3.30pm
Warrnambool Warrnambool City Council
25 Liebig Street, Warrnambool

Corangamite Shire Council

Moyne Shire Council

Warrnambool City Council

Glenelg Shire Council

Southern Grampians Shire Council

Rb McHenry Consulting

Champions of the Bush

Regional Management Forum

Foundation for Australian Agricultural Women

South West Sustainability Partnership

United Dairy Farmers Victoria

Wednesday 18 March
Mildura The Alfred Deakin Centre, Mildura

Latrobe University - Mildura Campus

Sunraysia Institute of TAFE - Mildura Campus

Mildura Development Corporation

Mildura Rural City Council

Golsworthy Consulting

Mallee Family Care

TASCO Inland

Arts Mildura

Merebin Community

Wednesday 22 April
Wodonga City of Wodonga, 104 Hovell Street, Wodonga

Regional Development Company Pty Ltd

Wodonga City Council

Murindindi Shire Council

Indigo Shire Council

Towong Shire Council

Latrobe University - Mildura Campus

Institute for Land, Water and Society

Latrobe University - Albury/Wodonga

Albury Wodonga Multiculural Centre

Upper Hume Primary Care Partnership

Charles Sturt University

Thursday 23 April
Wangaratta Rural City of Wangaratta, cnr Ford and Ovens Streets, Wangaratta

Rural City of Wangaratta

Benalla Rural City Council

Alpine Shire Council

Strathbogie Shire Council

Burder Industries Pty Ltd

WQangaratta Unlimited

Alpine Valley Community Leadership Program

Australian Alpine Valleys Agribusiness Forum

Rural Plan Pty Ltd

Tomorrow: Today Foundation

Monday 22 June
Melbourne Committee Secretariat, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

Department of Planning and Community Development

Further public consultations are yet to be determined - these will be published here as the information becomes available.

For more information about the schedule, please contact Jason at the Committee Secretariat on 1300 787 202 (VIC only) or 03 8682 2884, or by email to