Inquiry into Nuclear Prohibition

Hearings and Transcripts

Friday 11 September 2020

Time Witness Transcript
10.00 am Professor Stephen Wilson
Energy Economist

pdfTranscript180.81 KB

pdfResponse to question on notice1.73 MB

11.00 am Simon Holmes a Court
Energy Transition Hub

pdfTranscript158.64 KB

pdfSubmission1.19 MB

pdfResponse to question on notice1.6 MB

pdfPresentation3.85 MB

11.45 am Dr Dylan McConnell
Climate and Energy College - University of Melbourne

pdfTranscript210.80 KB

pdfPresentation311.18 KB


Friday, 28 August 2020

Time Witness Transcript
10.00 am

Dr Helen Caldicott

Supplementary evidence provided by Dr Helen Caldicott

  1. pdfCorrespondence547.58 KB
  2. pdfSmall Modular Reactors79.71 KB
  3. pdfThorium Reactors55.67 KB

pdfTranscript179.03 KB

pdfResponse to question on notice901.69 KB

11.00 am Simon Brink  pdfTranscript214.84 KB
12.00 pm Bart Wissink  pdfTranscript205.90 KB
2.00 pm Barrie Hill  pdfTranscript236.91 KB
3.00 pm Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)
Prof. Andrew Peele, Group Executive – Research Translation and Director – Australian Synchrotron
Prof. Lyndon Edwards, National Director – Australian Generation IV International Research
Dr Robert Gee, General Manager – Minerals and Radiation Services
Mr Steven McIntosh, Senior Manager – Government and International Affairs
 pdfTranscript248.75 KB
62. ANSTO Submission
pdfResponses to questions on notice3.00 MB
pdfAttachment A61.42 KB
pdfAttachment B120.05 KB
pdfAttachment C384.07 KB
pdfAttachment D5.59 MB
pdfAttachment E19.72 MB
pdfAttachment F119.82 KB
pdfAttachment G50.58 MB
pdfAttachment H3.08 MB
pdfAttachment I299.36 KB
pdfAttachment J7.83 MB
pdfAttachment K146.69 KB
pdfAttachment L120.88 KB
pdfAttachment M917.95 KB

Friday, 14 August 2020

Time Witness Transcript
9.00 am NuScale Power
Thomas Mundy

pdfTranscript168.44 KB

pdfResponses to questions on notice201.16 KB

10.00 am Environmental Progress
Michael Shellenberger
pdfTranscript250.74 KB
11.00 am Bright New World
Dr Ben Heard
Mr Dayne Eckermann, General Manager
pdfTranscript253.60 KB 
1.00 pm Professor John Quiggin
VC Senior Research Fellow, School of Economics,
University of Queensland
pdfTranscript229.86 KB
2.00 pm World Nuclear Association
Ian Hore-Lacy, Senior Advisor
King Lee, Director, Harmony Programme)
pdfTranscript252.36 KB


Friday, 26 June 2020

Time Witness Transcripts
10.00 am Electrical Trades Union (Victorian branch)
Mr Michael Watson, Political Officer
Mr Trevor Gauld, National Policy Officer

pdfTranscript170.38 KB

11.00 am

Australian Conservation Foundation and Friends of the Earth Australia
Jim Green, National Nuclear, Friends of the Earth Australia
Dave Sweeney, Nuclear Free Campaigner, Australian Conservation Foundation

pdfTranscript229.77 KB
1.30 pm Medical Association for Prevention of War (Australia)
Dr Tilman Ruff AO
Dr Margaret Beavis MBBS FRACGP MPH

pdfTranscript247.25 KB 

pdfDr Beavis response to questions141.61 KB

pdfDr Tillman_ responses to questions83.83 KB

2.15 pm Uniting Church in Australia (Synod of Victoria and Tasmania)
Mark Zirnsak
pdfTranscript196.90 KB 


Thursday, 25 June 2020

Time Witness Transcripts
10.00 am Construction Forestry Maritime Mining And Energy Union
Geoff Dyke, Secretary Vic Branch
Mark Richards, CFMMEU Mining & Energy Division

pdfTranscript158.65 KB

pdfResponses to questions on notice916.04 KB

pdfFurther responses to questions on notice1.49 MB

10.45 am Women in Nuclear Australia
Jo Lackenby, President
Jasmin Diab, Vice President

pdfTranscript208.62 KB

pdfResponses to questions on notice 517.78 KB

11.30 am Australian Nuclear Association
Dr Mark Ho, President
Mr Robert Parker, Vice President
Dr John Harries, Secretary

pdfTranscript246.58 KB

pdfANA Response to Question on Notice723.83 KB

pdfANA_additional information409.05 KB

1.00 pm Australian Workers' Union
Daniel Walton, AWU National Secretary
pdfTranscript228.22 KB
1.45 pm Minerals Council of Australia
James Sorahan, Executive Director MCA Victoria
Patrick Gibbons

pdfTranscript144.98 KB

pdfResponses to questions on notice98.02 KB

2.30 pm The Thorium Network
Jeremiah Josey, Founder & Chief Executive Officer
Dr Dragos Petrescu, Chief Operating Officer
Dian Kemp, Nuclear Chemical Engineer
pdfTranscript220.83 KB


Thursday 12 March 2020
Room G6, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

11.45 am Australian Safeguards and Non‐Proliferation Office (ASNO)
John Kalish, Assistant Secretary (via video link)
pdfTranscript158.41 KB
1.15 pm Department of Health and Human Services
Ms Melissa Skilbeck, Deputy Secretary, Regulation Health Protection and Emergency Management
Dr Angie Bone Deputy Chief Health Officer, Environment
Mr Noel Cleaves, Manager Environmental Health Regulation and Compliance
pdfTranscript255.65 KB
3.00 pm Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)
Dr Carl-Magnus Larsson, CEO and Deputy CEO (via Video link)
pdfTranscript224.69 KB
Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 December 2021