Inquiry into the Impact of Social Media on Elections and Electoral Administration

Hearings and Transcripts

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available.
Witnesses and hearing times may be subject to change
Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee

Monday 5 July 2021

Time Witness Transcript
12.15 pm Monash University
Professor Scott Wright, Professor of Political Communication and Journalism

pdfMonash University187.95 KB

Tuesday 15 June 2021

Time Witness Transcript
2.00 pm

La Trobe University
Associate Professor Andrea Carson

pdfLa Trobe University281.44 KB


Friday 12 March 2021

Time Witness Transcript
8.45 am International IDEA
Peter Wolf, Senior Expert on Electoral Processes

pdfInternational IDEA390.71 KB
9.30 am University of Toronto
Associate Professor Yasmin Dawood, Canada Research Chair in Democracy, Constitutionalism, and Electoral Law

pdfUniversity of Toronto375.96 KB


Monday 1 March 2021

Time Witness Transcript
9.00 am Australian Labor Party, Victorian Branch
Nicola Castleman, Assistant State Secretary

pdfAustralian Labor Party Victorian Branch161.42 KB
9.45 am UNSW Canberra Cyber, Australian Defence Force Academy
Tom Sear, Industry Fellow & PhD Candidate

pdfUNSW Canberra Cyber Australian Defence Force Academy170.55 KB


Monday 15 February 2021

Time Witness Transcripts
9.45 am

Electoral Commission South Australia
Mick Sherry, Electoral Commissioner

pdfElectoral Commission South Australia183.20 KB

10.30 am

Monash University
Associate Professor Luke Beck, Associate Professor of Constitutional Law

pdfMonash University218.68 KB

11.15 am


11.30 am

AAP FactCheck
Holly Nott, Managing Editor
Peter Bodkin, AAP FactCheck Editor

pdfAAP FactCheck206.85 KB
12.15 pm

RMIT ABC Fact Check
Josh Gordon, Economics and Finance Editor

pdfRMIT ABC Fact Check161.49 KB


Thursday 19 November 2020

Time Witness Transcripts
4.00 pm

Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner
Sven Bluemmel, Information Commissioner

pdfOffice of the Victorian Information Commissioner163.40 KB
4.30 pm

Mia Garlick, Director of Policy
Josh Machin, Head of Policy

pdfFacebook186.10 KB
5.00 pm

Labor Women’s Caucus
Sonya Kilkenny MP

pdfLabor Women's Caucus168.05 KB
5.30 pm

QUT Digital Media Research Centre
Professor Axel Bruns
Associate Professor Daniel Angus
Dr Timothy Graham
Dr Sofya Glazunova


pdfQueensland University of Technology276.38 KB

6.00 pm

University of Bristol and University of Western Australia
Professor Stephan Lewandowsky, University of Bristol and University of Western Australia
Professor Ullrich Ecker, University of Western Australia

pdfUniversity of Bristol and University of Western Australia164.98 KB
6.30 pm

European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services

Ľuboš Kukliš, Board Member

pdfEuropean Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services175.23 KB
7.00 pm Break  
7.30 pm

University of London
Professor Ben O'Loughlin
Dr Sofia Collignon


pdfUniversity of London213.91 KB

8.00 pm

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee, UK Parliament
Julian Knight MP, Chair

pdfDigital Culture Media and Sport Committee UK Parliament.169.18 KB
8.30 pm

Essex University and Carnegie Trust UK
Professor Lorna Woods, Professor of Internet Law, Essex University
William Perrin, Trustee


pdfEssex University and Carnegie Trust UK166.14 KB


Tuesday 17 November 2020

Time Witness Transcripts
10.00 am

Liberal Party
Sam McQuestin, State Director

pdfLiberal Party of Australia167.14 KB

10.30 am

Australian Greens Victoria
Dinesh Mathew, 2018 election candidate
Jessica Wheelock, Communications Director

pdfAustralian Greens Victoria181.21 KB
11.00 am


11.30 am

Centre for Public Integrity
Dr. Catherine Williams, Research and Policy Officer;
Geoffrey Watson SC, Board Member

pdfCentre for Public Integrity186.56 KB
12.00 pm

Monash University
Dr. Carlo Kopp

pdfMonash University373.55 KB

pdfPresentation11.00 KB

12.30 pm

Victorian Electoral Commission
Warwick Gately, AM, Electoral Commissioner
Marie Guerin, Manager Communication
Keegan Bartlett, Director Electoral Integrity and Regulation
Ashley Carr, Research Officer

pdfVictorian Electoral Commission320.51 KB
Last Updated on Monday, 02 August 2021