The Parliament Prize 2021

2019 Parliament Prize



This year, more than 630 students across Victoria told us what you would say to Parliament if you were an MP. Together, you spoke for a grand total of 950 minutes about the issues that are important to you.

Across the entire field of entries you addressed more than 250 different issues. Examples include: reducing the voting age, teaching Auslan at school, more rubbish bins, more street lights, creating community gardens, fire stick farming, care for adults with disabilities, tax fraud and saving the Plains-Wanderer.

Congratulations to the winners and finalists in each category. Our judges thought you spoke with real passion and conviction, and they were very impressed with the insights you shared.

To find out more about the results of this year's competition, check out this special message from some of our judges.

Parliament Prize 2021 results

Click here to view all the 2021 winning entries.

Grades 5 and 6

  • 1st place: Joman Mesleh
    Mt Hira College
    ‘Racism in Victoria’
  • 2nd place: Ivana Sobot
    Wembley Primary School
    'Eco-frindly local parks’
  • 3rd place: Ruby Weatherhead
    Fyans Park Primary School
    'Housing affordability’

Years 7 to 9

  • 1st place: Flynn Megahan
    Brighton Secondary College 'Supporting small communities'
  • 2nd place: Felicity Wei
    Presbyterian Ladies' College
    'Environmentally friendly buildings'
  • 3rd place: Athena Rose Marana
    Lilydale Heights College
    'Racial descrimination'

Years 10 to 12

  • 1st place: Lily Ivey
    Girton Grammar School
    'Eating disorder education'
  • 2nd place: Christopher O'Connell
    Scotch College
    'Youth homelessness'
  • 3rd place: Mackenzie Dornom
    Padua College
    'Sexist uniforms in women's sport'

The Alicia Katz Award

The Alicia Katz Award is named in honour of the first woman to stand in an election for the Victorian Parliament. The award recognises a school that has demonstrated a strong commitment to a diverse range of issues. This year the award is presented to Hoppers Crossing Secondary College.

Honourable mentions

The following students have been recognised by the judges for their creative and technical achievements.

  • Camille Sutton Heath, Clara Kerr and Charlotte Hayes
    Coburg North Primary School
  • Jimi Kloot
    Orchard Grove Primary School
  • Sethumlee (Punara) Alwis Samarakoon
    Berwick Secondary College
  • Samantha Konecny
    Berwick Secondary College
  • Jasmir Imran
    Elevation Secondary College
  • Kiana Jackson
    Catholic Regional College North Keilor

Thank you to everyone who took part in this year's Parliament Prize. We hope to see you back in 2022!