International relations

The Victorian Parliament connects with international visitors to Victoria and with parliaments across the world. Our international work helps to strengthen relations with other parliaments and countries. We also support democratic development in the Asia-Pacific region.

Latest news


 CPA Logo resized

Recruitment for Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Secretary-General

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is undertaking a recruitment process for a Secretary-General to head its international Secretariat located in London. The Australia Region, as one of the nine regions of the CPA, is seeking applications from suitably qualified and experienced candidates.

Documents related to this opportunity and the recruitment process may be accessed by clicking on the following link. Applications are requested to be received by Wednesday, 27 November 2019.

Any questions on this opportunity may be directed to Mr Jerome Brown, Secretary of the Australia Region of the CPA, at or phone (02) 6277 4339.


Artistic journey along Silk Road
Tuesday, 8 November 2016

ChineseCalligraphy NEWSTHUMB

An exhibition of contemporary Chinese calligraphy and painting has been opened at Parliament House.

The ‘21st Century Maritime Silk Road’ exhibition showcases the work of several Chinese artists who give a contemporary context to the ancient art of calligraphy.

Partnership agreement with Ontario Parliament
Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Delegations Sep NEWSTHUMB

The Victorian Parliament has signed a partnership agreement with the Parliament of Ontario, Canada to encourage parliamentary links and information sharing.

The agreement was signed during a visit to Victoria by the Ontario Parliament’s Speaker Dave Levac and Clerk Deborah Deller.


Featured video

35th anniversary of Victoria-Aichi sister state relationship

Pacific Parliamentary Partnerships

The Victorian Parliament participates in the Pacific Parliamentary Partnerships program under which Australian state and territory parliaments are twinned with Pacific island parliaments. The Victorian Parliament is twinned with the parliaments of Fiji, Nauru and Tuvalu. The program supports the professional development of parliamentarians and parliamentary staff and contributes to Australia’s relations with our Pacific neighbours.

As part of the program, the Victorian Parliament is taking a lead role in a capacity building project for the Fiji Parliament. Supported by funding from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and the Centre for Democratic Institutions, the project is supporting the development of the Fiji Parliament, its members and its staff following Fiji’s return to parliamentary democracy in 2014. The project is being undertaken in cooperation with the Australian federal parliament and the United Nations Development Programme.

Induction Fiji-delegation Civic-ed

Victorian MPs assist with induction training for new MPs in Fiji.

Fiji parliamentary delegation visits Victoria.

Fiji Parliament's civic education manager undertakes training attachment at the Victorian Parliament.

Sister state relations

Victoria has sister state relations with the Aichi Prefecture, Japan; the Jiangsu Province and the Sichuan Province, People's Republic of China; and Busan City, Republic of Korea (South Korea). The Victorian Parliament participates in activities, such as visit exchanges, that take place as part of the sister state program.

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The Victorian Parliament is an active member of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. It is an association of Commonwealth parliamentarians who, irrespective of gender, race, religion or culture, are united by a community of interest, respect for the rule of law and individual rights and freedoms, and by pursuit of the positive ideals of parliamentary democracy.

The association's mission is to promote the advancement of parliamentary democracy by enhancing knowledge and understanding of democratic governance. It seeks to build an informed parliamentary community able to deepen the Commonwealth's democratic commitment and to further cooperation among its parliaments and legislatures. This mission is achieved through a range of programs and activities for parliamentarians and parliamentary staff.


Yancheng ecuador Sri-Lankan-cricket

A delegation from Yancheng, China visited the Victorian Parliament in June 2015.

A conference promoting education links between Victoria and Ecuador was held at Parliament House in May 2015.

Members of the Sri Lankan World Cup cricket team visited Parliament House in February 2015.