Inquiry into the Road Safety Road Rules 2009 (Overtaking Bicycles) Bill 2015

Government Response

The Government response to this report was tabled in Parliament on 23 March 2017.

pdfGovernment Response(PDF 268.54 KB)


Final Report

On 15 September 2016 the Committee tabled its pdfReport(PDF 5.12 MB)

 EIC 58 05 Overtaking Bicycles Cover front 1

Hearings and Transcripts

Public Hearing Schedule

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this Inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available.

Tuesday 21 June 2016

55 St Andrews Place, Room G6

   Witness  Transcript

11.30 am

Victorian Motorcycle Council
Mr Rob Salvatore, Chair
Professor Richard Huggins


pdfPresentation(PDF 2.17 MB)

pdfTranspdfTranscript(PDF 46.33 KB)cript(PDF 46.33 KB)

12.00 noon

BMW Motorcycle Club Victoria
Mr John Eacott, President

 pdfTranscript(PDF 38.98 KB)

12.30 pm

Queensland Police (via videoconference)
Assistant Commissioner Mike Keating

 pdfTranscript(PDF 39.95 KB)


Tuesday 31 May 2016

55 St Andrews Place, Room G6

   Witness  Transcript

9.15 am

Bicycle Network
Mr Craig Richards, CEO
Ms Tess Allaway

 pdfTranscript(PDF 52.26 KB)

9.45 am

RoadSafe Central Victoria
Margaret Douglas, Board Member

pdfTranscript(PDF 30.74 KB)
pdfPresentation(PDF 1.3 MB)

10.15 am

Bill sponsor
Samantha Dunn, MLC

pdfTranscript(PDF 34.51 KB) 
pdfPresentation(PDF 684.13 KB)

10.45 am


11.00 am

Andrew Smeal

pdfTranscript(PDF 34.49 KB)

pdfPresentation(PDF 341.29 KB)  

11.30 am

Bike Bendigo
Mr Robert Kretschmer, Treasurer

Macedon Ranges Cycling Club
Mr Brett Ellis

Bike Safe Macedon Ranges
Ms Sue Blakey, Vice-President 

pdfTranscript(PDF 72.22 KB)
pdfPresentation Bike Safety Macedon Ranges(PDF 2.76 MB)

pdfBike Bendigo Inc.(PDF 406.8 KB)

12.30 pm


1.30 pm

Mr Dave Jones, Manager Roads & Traffic
Mr Brian Negus, General Manager Public Policy

pdfTranscript(PDF 56.96 KB)
pdfPresentation(PDF 463.33 KB)

2.00 pm

RACQ (via videoconference)
Mr Steve Spalding, Executive Manager Technical and Safety Policy 
Ms Genevieve Graves, Manager Sustainable Transport 

 pdfTranscript(PDF 30.68 KB)

2.30 pm

Cycling NSW (via videoconference)
Mr Phil Ayres, CEO 
pdfTranscript (PDF 26.73 KB)


Monday 30 May 2016

55 St Andrews Place, Room G6

   Witness  Transcript

9.00 am

Charles Brown MPA (via videoconference)
Rutgers University, New York

 pdfTranscript(PDF 42.92 KB)

9.45 am

Cycling Victoria
Mr Kipp Kaufmann, CEO

 pdfTranscript(PDF 47.73 KB)

pdfPresentation(PDF 655.7 KB)

10.45 am


11.00 am

Mr Rob Spence, CEO

 pdfTranscript(PDF 35.53 KB)

11.30 am

Victoria Police
Inspector Wayne Chatter
Acting Senior Sergeant Ryan Burns


 pdfTranscript(PDF 49.97 KB)

pdfAnswers to QoN(PDF 113 KB)

12.00 noon

VicRoads and TAC
Robyn Seymour, Director, Vehicle & Road Use Policy (VicRoads)
Con Stasinos, Director, Network Policy and Standards (VicRoads)
Samantha Cockfield, Senior Manager, Road Safety (TAC)
Elizabeth Waller, Manager, Strategy and Programs (Road Safety) (TAC) Michael Nieuwesteeg, Manager, Research (Road Safety) (TAC)

 pdfTranscript(PDF 67.6 KB)

pdfPresentation(PDF 4.29 MB)

12.30 pm


1.30 pm

Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads (via videoconference)
Mike Stapleton, Deputy Director-General (Customer Services, Safety and Regulation)
Darren Mulholland, Senior Manager (Safer Road Users)
Deborah Evans, Principal Advisor (Safer Road Users)

 pdfTranscript(PDF 36.38 KB)

2.00 pm

South Australian Department of Transport, Energy and Infrastructure (via videoconference)
Gemma Kernich, Unit Manager, Programs and Planning Advice 
 pdfTranscript(PDF 24.25 KB)

2.30 pm

Tasmanian Department of State Growth
Mr Craig Hoey, Manager Road Safety

 pdfTranscript(PDF 31.06 KB)

pdfAnswers to QoN and additional information(PDF 220.9 KB)

3.15 pm

NSW Centre for Road Safety
Mr Bernard Carlon, Executive Director

pdfTranscript(PDF 36.08 KB)

pdfPresentation(PDF 1.48 MB)


Tuesday, 3 May 2016

55 St Andrews Place, Room G3

   Witness  Transcript

11.30 am

Centre for Accident Research and Road Safety - Queensland
Narelle Haworth, Director (via videoconference)

 pdfTranscript(PDF 53.99 KB)

12.15 pm

Amy Gillett Foundation
Phoebe Dunn, CEO
Marilyn Johnson, Research and Policy Manager

pdfTranscript(PDF 60.86 KB)

pdfPresentation(PDF 2.79 MB)


Transcripts of Evidence

Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee.