Galvin, (Leslie) William

Born 30 April 1903 (Woollahra, New South Wales)
Died 01 July 1966. (Bendigo. Fawkner crematorium)
Parents: Leslie Arthur, accountant, and Ethel Tisdale, matron and senior inspector New South Wales Children's Welfare Department.
Marriage: 9 Apr 1931 Anne Edith Ruby, community worker and active ALP; 2s.
Occupation: Fitter and turner
Religion: Presbyterian
Education: Scotch College, Melbourne, Petersham Commercial School, New South Wales

Career: Fitter and turner Vic. Railways engineering branch, transferred to Bendigo 1929; president Bendigo Australian Railways Union; Amalgamated Engineering Union member; president Bendigo Trades Hall Council three times, Provincial Trades Hall Council Association; president Bendigo Athletic Carnival; keen footballer and cricketer; president Golden Square Football Club. Bendigo city councillor 1939-1952, mayor 1944-1945

Party: Australian Labor Party
Party Note: Founding member and president Quarry Hill branch, state executive 1954-1957, 1958-1959, deputy leader 1947-1955

House Electorate Start *   End *  
MLABendigo26 May 1945(b/e)17 June 1955Defeated
MLABendigo31 May 1958 26 June 1964 

Appointments: Minister of Lands and of Water Supply Nov 1945-Nov 1947. Chief Secretary and Deputy Premier Dec 1952-June 1955, acting Premier 1953. Egg Marketing committee 1951. Population Distribution committee 1959-1962.
References: Who's Who in Australia 1947-1965; Victoria, 'Parliamentary Debates' 7 Sept 1966, 41-3; Labor Call 4 Dec 1947; Age 9 Jan 1953; Argus 17 Aug 1953; SNP 2 July 1966; Houston, L. G., 'Ministers of Water Supply in Victoria', Melbourne, 1965; Murray, R., 'The Split: Australian Labor in the Fifties', Melbourne, 1972; White, K. B., 'John Cain and Victorian Labor 1917-57', Sydney, 1982.
Initial data source: Browne, G, 'Biographical Register of the Victorian Parliament 1900-84', 1985
Last update: 1985 (last date the record was checked and updated)

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.