Members Information - Ken Smith (Bass)

Image of Ken Smith

Hon Ken Smith

Full Name

Hon Kenneth (Ken) Maurice Smith


PartyLiberal Party
Party PositionsState Council Delegate 1984-88. Pres., Balnarring Merricks Branch 1985-88. Chairman, Dromana State Electorate 1985-88. Sec., Flinders Electorate Cttee 1984-88. Policy Assembly 1987-88.

Electorate Office

Address26 McBride Avenue, Wonthaggi 3995
Phone(03) 5672 4755
Fax(03) 5672 4772
Postal AddressPO Box 448, Wonthaggi 3995




HouseLegislative Assembly


PersonalBorn 30 December 1944, Married, three children.
MembershipsH.R. Nicholls Society; Society of Modest Members; Samuel Griffith Society.


EducationMoorabbin Technical College. Post Apprenticeship (RMIT). Australian Administrative Staff College 1983.


Previous OccupationSelf-employed Plumbing Contractor 1961-1981. Executive Officer, Master Plumbers Association 1981-84. Self-employed, Ken Smith Plumbing Pty. Ltd., 1984-88.
Local Government ServiceCouncillor, Shire of Hastings 1982-88. Dep Shire Pres. 1987-88.

Parliamentary History

Committees ServicePublic Bodies Review Cttee 1988-1992. House Cttee 1991-96. Chairman, Crime Prevention Cttee 1992-96. LC Standing Orders Cttee 1999-2002. House Cttee 2003-06. Dep Chair, Outer Suburban/Interface Services and Development Cttee 2003-November 2010. House Cttee 2007-4 February 2014. Chair, Legislative Assembly Standing Orders Cttee April 2011-4 February 2014.
Parliamentary Party PositionsGovernment Whip (Legislative Council) 1996-99. Opposition Whip (Legislative Council) 1999-2002. Spokesperson for Gaming December 2002-May 2006. Spokesperson for Fisheries December 2005-May 2006. Secretary, Parliamentary Liberal Party since February 2006. Shadow Minister for Gaming, Shadow Minister for Fisheries May-December 2006. Shadow Minister for Local Government December 2006-February 2008.
Parliamentary ServiceElected MLC for South Eastern Province October 1988. Re-elected 1996, September 1999. Elected MLA for Bass November 2002. Re-elected November 2006. Acting Speaker March 2004-December 2010. Re-elected November 2010. Speaker of the Legislative Assembly December 2010-4 February 2014.

Last Updated: 2014-02-11